WiFi in Place of 3G or 4G?

This is a discussion on WiFi in Place of 3G or 4G? within the Android Forum forums, part of the Android Discussions category; There is no way of making calls or text without an application service. -end of line-...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: WiFi in Place of 3G or 4G?

  1. #11
    Super Moderator RobKort's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, US
    Posts
    630
    Thanked
    75 times
    There is no way of making calls or text without an application service.

    -end of line-



  2. #12
    Super Moderator UltraDroid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio - the North Coast, Baby!
    Posts
    7,570
    Thanked
    519 times
    Quote Originally Posted by RobKort View Post
    There is no way of making calls or text without an application service.

    -end of line-

    Yeah, that was my thinking too. Thanks Rob!
    GSM Galaxy Note 3 (Black) - Straight Stock
    GSM Galaxy Note 2 (Titanium) - Rooted running Jedi X20 Rom
    GSM Galaxy Nexus (Black) - Straight Stock

    GSM Samsung Galaxy S3 (Red) - Rooted running Deadly Venom v8.0.1 Rom


  3. #13
    Android Lurker Kid.Anarchy87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8
    What applications are good for doing that, text plus costs and I know pinger let's me text with wifi with my main number but what about calling?

    Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Android.net

  4. #14
    Super Moderator UltraDroid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio - the North Coast, Baby!
    Posts
    7,570
    Thanked
    519 times
    Kid, if you don't have a signal from a carrier, there is no way to make or receive a phone call.
    GSM Galaxy Note 3 (Black) - Straight Stock
    GSM Galaxy Note 2 (Titanium) - Rooted running Jedi X20 Rom
    GSM Galaxy Nexus (Black) - Straight Stock

    GSM Samsung Galaxy S3 (Red) - Rooted running Deadly Venom v8.0.1 Rom


  5. #15
    Android Lurker Kid.Anarchy87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8
    Then Sprint lied to me? They said there are apps that would allow me calling with wifi if I have no signal.

    Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Android.net

  6. #16
    Super Moderator UltraDroid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio - the North Coast, Baby!
    Posts
    7,570
    Thanked
    519 times
    As I said in an earlier post, I'm no tech expert, but stop and think about it for a minute - If I call you, while you're on wifi only, what phone number am I dialing? By the same token, if you call me and you're on wifi only (no carrier signal at all), what number will be displayed on my phone as the incoming call? If you're asking me, I'd say whoever at Sprint told you that was badly misinformed.
    GSM Galaxy Note 3 (Black) - Straight Stock
    GSM Galaxy Note 2 (Titanium) - Rooted running Jedi X20 Rom
    GSM Galaxy Nexus (Black) - Straight Stock

    GSM Samsung Galaxy S3 (Red) - Rooted running Deadly Venom v8.0.1 Rom


  7. #17
    Android Jr Member Valhalla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    83
    Thanked
    4 times
    I'm sure if you download skype from the market you could do that but that's with an app. Other wise no. I mean if your out of data reach and in a dead zone and all you have is wifi then very unlikely anything would work. Only way to be sure is if you head out to that dead spot and try and see what happens with useing only wifi. Otherwise you could try roaming.

    Sent from my LGL55C using Android.net

  8. #18
    Android Jr Member Valhalla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    83
    Thanked
    4 times
    Okay here's proof enough. When I make a call or get a call weather I'm on wifi or on 3G etc it takes me off either. It uses standerd 1x so it won't matter if you have wifi or not. If your using just wifi and your in a dead zone then no you can't call or text unless you use apps that uses wifi to do that. The number is whatever the number you sign up with.

    Sent from my LGL55C using Android.net

  9. #19
    Android Lurker Kid.Anarchy87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8
    Well piss. Thanks for the help.

    Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Android.net

  10. #20
    Rescue Squad grenefroggie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    169
    Thanked
    50 times
    You do have an option. It is not cheap. It is called an AIRWAVE Access Point.

    This uses your internet connection to improve you cell phone service in your house. You have the option to use data as well, which makes no sense because you need an internet connection to use it. But it will give you phone service in an area where you can't get it. The retail price for it is $279.99 (plus tax if you have sales tax in your area). There is a discounted price if you have an upgrade of $129.99 (again, plus tax where applicable).

    AT&T has something similar called a MicroCELL. We use one at our office because it is a metal building and you can't get good service. The only time we drop a call is when we go from inside the building outside the building, and vice versa. This is due to losing the connection over the internet and having to switch back to a tower.

    Typically, carriers want you to have at least 3M down to use it. Not sure exactly why. We have customers that use it on 768k/256k, and if traffic shaping (Quality of Service) is done properly it works fine.

    Hope this helps!!
    UltraDroid likes this.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Android Anonymous (A place for all to vent)
    By tp4bama in forum Android Forum
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-11-2011, 01:07 PM
  2. Hi guys! So happy to find this place
    By Jackie99 in forum Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-19-2011, 07:25 AM
  3. good place for.......
    By davros in forum Android 2.2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-18-2011, 10:42 PM
  4. Boy am I going to need this place!
    By Stone in forum Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-16-2010, 08:10 AM

Search tags for this page

create a wifi hotspot on lgl55c
,
how can i use my android lgl55c as a wifi hotspot?
,
how doi i make my lgl55c a wifi hotspot
,
how to enable wifi hot spot on lgl55c
,
how to make android use wifi instead of 3g
,
how to turn on portable wifi hotspot lgl55c
,
lgl55c call settings internet calling
,

lgl55c wifi hotspot

,

lgl55c wifi hotspot app

,
my lgl55c says its connect to wifi but wont let me get on the internet
,
wifi hotspot app for android lgl55c
,
wifi hotspot app for lg55c
,

wifi hotspot app for lgl55c

,
wifi hotspot app for the lgl55c
,
wifi hotspot lgl55c
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum