WiFi in Place of 3G or 4G?

This is a discussion on WiFi in Place of 3G or 4G? within the Android Forum forums, part of the Android Discussions category; I am wondering. If I am somewhere I have absolutely no signal or data coverage, can I turn on my wifi and use it to ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: WiFi in Place of 3G or 4G?

  1. #1
    Android Lurker Kid.Anarchy87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8

    WiFi in Place of 3G or 4G?

    I am wondering. If I am somewhere I have absolutely no signal or data coverage, can I turn on my wifi and use it to make calls/texts?

    Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Android.net

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RobKort's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, US
    Posts
    630
    Thanked
    75 times
    Yes, there are several apps for that but you do need to have a wireless access. Text+ does both and their rates are really cheap.

    -end of line-



  4. #3
    Super Moderator cali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4,830
    Thanked
    329 times
    I've tried to use one or two open networks in my building, but unfortunately, they are never available any more, so I stick with my mobile broadband service that I am paying for.

  5. #4
    Android Lurker Kid.Anarchy87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8
    No I mean without apps can I use my wifi in place of my 3G to make and send calls and texts when I have no signal.

    Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Android.net

  6. #5
    Super Moderator UltraDroid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio - the North Coast, Baby!
    Posts
    7,570
    Thanked
    519 times
    You're saying that in the hypothetical situation you have absolutely no signal or data coverage, but you DO have a wifi signal??
    GSM Galaxy Note 3 (Black) - Straight Stock
    GSM Galaxy Note 2 (Titanium) - Rooted running Jedi X20 Rom
    GSM Galaxy Nexus (Black) - Straight Stock

    GSM Samsung Galaxy S3 (Red) - Rooted running Deadly Venom v8.0.1 Rom


  7. #6
    Android Lurker Kid.Anarchy87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8
    I'm saying where I live I have no signal but I have access to my wifi connection.

    Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Android.net

  8. #7
    Android Lurker Kid.Anarchy87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8
    Please anybody?

    Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Android.net

  9. #8
    Super Moderator UltraDroid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio - the North Coast, Baby!
    Posts
    7,570
    Thanked
    519 times
    I don't know for sure Kid (I'm not a technician), but I suspect it *won't* allow you to make calls. Have you just gone ahead and *tried* it? It certainly won't hurt your phone, it will either allow it or it won't.
    GSM Galaxy Note 3 (Black) - Straight Stock
    GSM Galaxy Note 2 (Titanium) - Rooted running Jedi X20 Rom
    GSM Galaxy Nexus (Black) - Straight Stock

    GSM Samsung Galaxy S3 (Red) - Rooted running Deadly Venom v8.0.1 Rom


  10. #9
    Android Lurker mariposarojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    St Augustine, FL USA
    Posts
    20
    I have no G3 or G4 signal in my house. I "live on" my Wifi. I have a router which also feeds 2 computers & a laptop.I've had no problems at all over the 2 years I've been doing this. Good signal & fast uploading & downloading

  11. #10
    Super Moderator UltraDroid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio - the North Coast, Baby!
    Posts
    7,570
    Thanked
    519 times
    ...but can you make calls, and text over that wifi. That seemed to be the Kid's question, and I don't see how it'd be possible.
    GSM Galaxy Note 3 (Black) - Straight Stock
    GSM Galaxy Note 2 (Titanium) - Rooted running Jedi X20 Rom
    GSM Galaxy Nexus (Black) - Straight Stock

    GSM Samsung Galaxy S3 (Red) - Rooted running Deadly Venom v8.0.1 Rom


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Android Anonymous (A place for all to vent)
    By tp4bama in forum Android Forum
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-11-2011, 01:07 PM
  2. Hi guys! So happy to find this place
    By Jackie99 in forum Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-19-2011, 07:25 AM
  3. good place for.......
    By davros in forum Android 2.2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-18-2011, 10:42 PM
  4. Boy am I going to need this place!
    By Stone in forum Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-16-2010, 08:10 AM

Search tags for this page

create a wifi hotspot on lgl55c
,
how can i use my android lgl55c as a wifi hotspot?
,
how doi i make my lgl55c a wifi hotspot
,
how to enable wifi hot spot on lgl55c
,
how to make android use wifi instead of 3g
,
how to turn on portable wifi hotspot lgl55c
,
lgl55c call settings internet calling
,

lgl55c wifi hotspot

,

lgl55c wifi hotspot app

,
my lgl55c says its connect to wifi but wont let me get on the internet
,
wifi hotspot app for android lgl55c
,
wifi hotspot app for lg55c
,

wifi hotspot app for lgl55c

,
wifi hotspot app for the lgl55c
,
wifi hotspot lgl55c
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum