Transferring Data-One Mobile to Other

This is a discussion on Transferring Data-One Mobile to Other within the Android Forum forums, part of the Android Discussions category; Hi, I am using Samsung Galaxy Nexus and my wife is using Galaxy S3. Now, we want to exchange phone. Can anyone please guide me ...

Thread: Transferring Data-One Mobile to Other

Transferring Data-One Mobile to Other

Hi,
    I am using Samsung Galaxy Nexus and my wife is using Galaxy S3. Now, we want to exchange phone. Can anyone please guide me how should I transfer apps (with all the data in it) and other data (including phone contacts, calendars, SMS) from Nexus to S3 and similarly from S3 to Nexus? I know I can transfer contacts and calendar by sync with gmail. But, not sure other apps and data. Please let me know a simple and easy way as I am not technical person.
    Thanks

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

First question I will ask is are these devices rooted? Because as you know, being an Android user, each device requires a Google account to activate. If you are rooted then it's just a matter of copying the .APK files to a notebook computer then transferring them to the other device. Another option is(if rooted) use a file manager such as Root Explorer to transfer them by way of BlueTooth.

Thanks for replying whistler7. I have google account and it is sync, but don't know what you mean by rooted? Sorry, I am not an IT person and very poor in these technical terms. Can you please try to explain me in simple terms, what do I need to do to root? How to copy then those .APK file to notebook and transfer it back to other device? Your detailed reply will help me a lot.

Thanks

Ok. if you're not rooted or familiar with it, it's probably best that we try another way. Both phones may allow you to set up another