Issues with z4root

This is a discussion on Issues with z4root within the Android Rooting forums, part of the Android Development category; I'm trying to root my phone and I'm using z4root. I've tried to permament and temporary root. Once after the "acquiring root shell" thing is ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Issues with z4root

  1. #1
    Android Sr Member jon_l85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    113
    Thanked
    1 times

    Issues with z4root

    I'm trying to root my phone and I'm using z4root. I've tried to permament and temporary root. Once after the "acquiring root shell" thing is done, it closes and goes back to my screen. I rebooted my phone and no root. Help please?

    Sent from my Ally using Android.net App

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Administrator wicked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    San Jose CA.
    Posts
    3,345
    Thanked
    260 times
    Twitter
    wwickedd
    Quote Originally Posted by jon_l85 View Post
    I'm trying to root my phone and I'm using z4root. I've tried to permament and temporary root. Once after the "acquiring root shell" thing is done, it closes and goes back to my screen. I rebooted my phone and no root. Help please?

    Sent from my Ally using Android.net App
    Try toggling bluetooth on.


  4. #3
    Super Moderator/RS furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Two hours north of Syracuse, NY. Yes, there IS civilization that far north.
    Posts
    3,983
    Thanked
    197 times
    Twitter
    FurryVarmint
    I forgot that tip. Since the RATC exploit uses the Bluetooth system it can help it along.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator Droid-Xer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    2,239
    Thanked
    59 times
    Twitter
    _B0BB0_
    There's no Super User app in the app drawer?

  6. #5
    Android Sr Member jon_l85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    113
    Thanked
    1 times
    No, no super app and I just tried with bluetooth on. No luck

    Sent from my Ally using Android.net App

  7. #6
    Super Moderator/RS furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Two hours north of Syracuse, NY. Yes, there IS civilization that far north.
    Posts
    3,983
    Thanked
    197 times
    Twitter
    FurryVarmint
    There are difficulties using Z4Root to root FroYo on the Ally. Your best bet is to try SuperOneClick, ADB, or rooting manually using the RATC exploit and Terminal Emulator. I can dig up the link for the manual rooting if you'd like to give it a try since you mentioned that you don't have access to a PC.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator 252chevyboyz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    492
    Thanked
    14 times
    Twitter
    jfhrtn
    If the following above doesnt work check this link out at our sister site.

    Need some links - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum
    Droid 2/Liberty 2.0.1/Oc'ed/1.3ghz
    Visit our sister site Droidforums.net for more info



  9. #8
    Developer WugFresh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    169
    Thanked
    10 times
    Superoneclick is probably your best/easiest alternative. But if you feel like giving z4 another shot, I usually get it to work first try using this procedure;
    1. Turn usb debugging on
    2. Turn airplane mode on
    3. Put z4 on your main homescreen for quick access
    4. Battery pull
    5. Reboot
    6. Wait at lock screen until your device finishes scanning your sdcard
    7. Unlock
    8. Z4 root
    9. Permanent root
    10. It should automatically reboot

    If you want to go the manual route, you can make your life easier by using a batch script someone made that calls all the advice commands for you. Search DoRoot.bat on google and follow the first or second link for instructions.

    {{ WugFresh }}

  10. #9
    Android Sr Member jon_l85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    113
    Thanked
    1 times
    i tried using v 1.1 on zroot and i let it sit at "applying root" for 7 hrs and no such luck. ill try your idea.

    Sent from my Ally using Android.net App

  11. #10
    Developer WugFresh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    169
    Thanked
    10 times
    You need v1.3

    It should only take you 1 minute. If its going longer, battery pull and do it again.

    {{ WugFresh }}

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Z4Root Download Links/Get Your Root On Here!
    By wicked in forum Android Rooting
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 11-05-2013, 01:40 PM
  2. DLo9 and z4root
    By BlackHoleSlam in forum Samsung Fascinate
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-08-2011, 11:24 AM
  3. Multiple issues!
    By G2 Forum User in forum HTC G2
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-21-2010, 11:28 AM
  4. Gallery Issues
    By Epic Forums User in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-20-2010, 01:00 AM
  5. Keyboard issues
    By G2 Forum User in forum HTC G2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-15-2010, 03:46 PM

Search tags for this page

acquiring root shell z4root closes
,
why does z4root force close
,
why does z4root keeps force closing
,
z4 aquring rootong shell and then exit
,

z4root acquiring root shell

,
z4root acquiring root shell then closes
,
z4root closes acquiring root shell
,

z4root crashes

,

z4root crashes acquiring root shell

,
z4root has stopped
,
z4root keeps crashing
,
z4root stop at rebooting
,
z4root stopped unexpectedly
,
z4root stops at acquiring root shell
,
z4root stops working
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum