PDA

View Full Version : Replacement Phone here.. how to move?



VydorScope
05-20-2011, 01:37 PM
So just got my replacement phone, and I realize that my contacts/etc will move over when I reconnect to my account... but what about the SD card? I have every app possible on it, should I just wipe it first? Or when it I re download from the market will they pick up settings ? Or something else?

Also what about text messages, are they just lost?

Thanks!

DudeRandom21
05-20-2011, 01:59 PM
Not sure I understand if you have the apps on your SD card then just transfer the SD card that's it it's that simple. For the text messages search in the market for SMS backup and restore you will get many results almost any of them will do.

VydorScope
05-20-2011, 02:02 PM
Well the apps are on the SD card, but always leave SOME data on the phones memory.

DudeRandom21
05-20-2011, 02:04 PM
Oh sorry my bad thought you were rooted cause rooted users it all goes to the SD card. Well in that case then ya you will need to redownload all your apps.

Beer Goggles
05-20-2011, 02:48 PM
Oh sorry my bad thought you were rooted cause rooted users it all goes to the SD card. Well in that case then ya you will need to redownload all your apps.

It's not true that rooted users have ALL data going to SD. By default, apps install to the phones internal memory. You can move them after that or change the default.

VydorScope, you can use tools like SMS backup to save your text message to SD.

Depending on how you setup your phones privacy settings, you can have all of your apps and app data sent to Googles servers. If you have it set that way, it will be restored when you first set that account up on the new phone.

It will take a while and is best from WiFi (of course).

DudeRandom21
05-20-2011, 02:52 PM
Yes I know that the data is installed on the phone by default but with the app2SD clients for rooted users it will move all the data to the SD card that is what I meant by rooted users have all the data on the SD card.

danger-rat
05-20-2011, 03:01 PM
For your text messages, use an app that will sync them to your Gmail account...

Beer Goggles
05-20-2011, 03:12 PM
For your text messages, use an app that will sync them to your Gmail account...

Like... ???

DudeRandom21
05-20-2011, 03:14 PM
Theres plenty of the like SMS Backup + just do a search in the market for sms backup it will give you a bunch of results some backup to SD card some to Gmail.

danger-rat
05-20-2011, 03:23 PM
I use SMS Backup+, but I've used others in the past. There's lots to choose from...

Beer Goggles
05-20-2011, 03:28 PM
I use SMS Backup+, but I've used others in the past. There's lots to choose from...

I hate choices.... :rofl3:

That's why my N1 runs CM7 nightlies :wine1:

VydorScope
05-20-2011, 08:27 PM
Well dang. Turns out wave secure backs up sms, and it says there is 4423 of them on the server, so I just went with that... and now its failing to restore.

Phone arrived with 2.2.1 on it, but it got 2.3.4 right away, so that is okay.

BTW wasnt there a screen change midstream of some kind? I have some vague memory of that... if there was, how can I know which I have, and which is better? :D

danger-rat
05-20-2011, 11:49 PM
Screen changed from AMOLED to SLCD quite a while back. Type "dmesg" into your terminal emulator, and the AMOLED will show up as samsung_oled_panel a number of times. Can't remember what the SLCD shows up as...

Opinions vary on which is better, depending on if you like the pure blacks, vivid colors, daytime viewing, battery consumption etc...

VydorScope
05-21-2011, 06:01 AM
Yea, its AMOLED then.

mush03
05-21-2011, 01:17 PM
had my phone swapped last tuesday, one thing thats different is that the SD card spring locks... on my old one i just pushed it in and thats it

DudeRandom21
05-22-2011, 09:07 AM
Encase anyone is wondering I got mine replaced a little while back so they switched it to SLCD (not even sure what I had before) but now when I do dmesg it comes back as "AVS setting V" then there is a little more around it but it's different depending on the line so I don't think it's important for what we are trying to find.

danger-rat
05-22-2011, 09:40 AM
Dude, when you type dmesg, you should get a lot of lines of text. Look for one that has "panel" in it...

DudeRandom21
05-22-2011, 09:45 AM
Ok well it's cause your right it shows allot of lines but that is kind of the problem cause it's hard to look for a specific word in all those lines. You said that the samsung_oled_panel would show up a number of times but from what I can see the only thing that shows up a number of times is AVS setting V but I'll take another look.

DudeRandom21
05-22-2011, 10:19 AM
Ok well I did actually find samsung_oled_panel multiple times although not always the same I got the following:

samsung _oled_panel_unblank: +()
samsung _oled_panel_unblank: -()
samsung _oled_panel_init: +()
samsung _oled_panel_init: -()
samsung _oled_panel_blank: -()
samsung _oled_panel_blank: +()

Those are the only panels I found now note that I searched by hand so I might have missed some but the other thing is I did see some lcdc_(some other stuff after but can't remember what) but I noticed it like near the top of the list so I didn't really want to start over but if you want I can look for some other stuff but I'll copy everything into a note app then open it on my computer copy it into word and use the find option or I can even pm or email it to you if you want.

danger-rat
05-22-2011, 10:21 AM
Looks like you have an AMOLED screen Dude!

SLCD shows up as sony_tft_panel

DudeRandom21
05-22-2011, 10:38 AM
Well I thought they didn't replace the displays with AMOLED screens anymore? and on top of that when I got the repair order they said they replaced the lcd they didn't say anything about amoled :confused: oh well if i have amoled I'm happy I like that better XD

VydorScope
05-22-2011, 12:29 PM
Well I thought they didn't replace the displays with AMOLED screens anymore? and on top of that when I got the repair order they said they replaced the lcd they didn't say anything about amoled :confused: oh well if i have amoled I'm happy I like that better XD

Well if you got it replaced a while back, and have been happy with it the whole time, then at this point what difference does it make? :D

DudeRandom21
05-22-2011, 12:48 PM
Well I thought they didn't replace the displays with AMOLED screens anymore? and on top of that when I got the repair order they said they replaced the lcd they didn't say anything about amoled :confused: oh well if i have amoled I'm happy I like that better XD

Well if you got it replaced a while back, and have been happy with it the whole time, then at this point what difference does it make? :D

I guess you got a point it doesn't really change much XD

Although I have to say that most of the time I actually did think i had amoled because it is better in the sun lite and mine was great, and the other thing I saw was that when I was on a black screen (like the :nexusx:) in the dark it did look black which was supposed to be the other way of knowing which one you had so I guess I'm not really that shocked.