PDA

View Full Version : A couple of questions about CM7



d1mitrov
06-09-2011, 10:34 AM
hey fellas i just flashed the cm7 rom, i was still running on cm 5.0.7...
i have some questions. can i set the trackball to light different colors when i get a txt msg, a missed call, an email etc, and also in 5.0.7 there was an option to not see the notification bar when browsing the internet, is there anything like that in cm7?
thanks for your help and ill post more questions in here as they arise, which im sure they will...

danger-rat
06-09-2011, 11:40 AM
Yes, both options are available...

Trackball is under Cyanogen settings, interface, led notifications.

Browser is under browser, menu, more, settings, full screen...

d1mitrov
06-09-2011, 12:34 PM
haha that was easy enough. thx, ill make sure my next question is harder for ya!

d1mitrov
06-09-2011, 03:58 PM
Okay here is another question for ya. Are certain widgets not available on cm 7 ? I tried a couple apps lkke mobile buzz and fml but when i go under widgets to add them to the home screen they arent there

danger-rat
06-09-2011, 04:11 PM
I just tried Mobile Buzz, and it works fine on my CM7...?

d1mitrov
06-09-2011, 08:42 PM
Did u try pitting the widget on ur home screen?

danger-rat
06-09-2011, 08:45 PM
Yup - worked, no problem...
What launcher are you using? - I have ADW EX

d1mitrov
06-09-2011, 09:10 PM
Ok when i moved the app in question back to the phone memory the widget became available... when I put it back on the sd card the widget goes away... I'm on the froyo aps2sd

danger-rat
06-09-2011, 09:13 PM
Ahhhhhh, yes - widgets won't work from the SD with the froyo apps2sd.
Sorry, forgot about that - it's been a long time since I used it...

d1mitrov
06-10-2011, 01:06 AM
are u running any custom aps2sd like darktremor or whatever? whats a good one to use and could you provide some info on how to do it...i feel like such a noob i havent been keeping up with android :/

danger-rat
06-10-2011, 08:35 AM
I mostly use DT 2.7.5.2 (alt version). I flash CM7, then DT, then gapps. I have my own custom gapps, which I need to tweak, because lately it won't let me install DT on top of it, which is why I flash DT first. It doesn't really seem to matter, but now I know the problem is there, it will slowly eat away at me... xD

I've tried a few other options, like the Market apps S2E and Link2sd. I've also tried changing the internal partition sizes on my phone to make use of the unused 90gb of /cache. DT is the one I trust the most...

d1mitrov
06-10-2011, 09:24 AM
can u link me to a thread that gives info on how to set it up. i had a partition on my card but i wiped my whole sd card before switching to cm7 sooo now i dont know wether i have that partition or not anymore. where do the froyo app2sd go?? does that use a partition? this is so confusing to me for some reason lol!!!

danger-rat
06-10-2011, 09:44 AM
Partitioning will wipe your card, unfortunately.

FreeSpace is a good tool for looking at the partitions on your phone (and card), so you can check it with that...

I run a 1gb ext partition on a 16gb card, but I've never got close to using half that space. If you have a smaller card, you could probably get away with a 0.5gb partition. You don't need any swap space. The partition needs to at least ext3. Amon Ra defaults to ext2, and you have to upgrade the partition with Amon to ext3. CWM defaults to ext3...

Once you've done that, you just flash DT (backup first, just in case). You can install DT at any point, since it can be used to move apps to ext, as well as set the default install for new apps to ext. The best bit about DT is that you can also move dalvik to SD, which frees up about 80mb of your internal memory...

Once you've flashed the zip, you boot your phone, then activate the links. You do this by opening a terminal emulator, typing "su" to get super user access, the type either:
a2sd install (sets the default location to ext)
a2sd reinstall (to move existing apps to ext and set the default location)
a2sd cachesdreset (same as above, but also moves the dalvik to sd)

There are a few other options to check the install, etc, but these are typically all you need.

d1mitrov
06-10-2011, 10:02 AM
ok cool sounds simple enough!!! i will check it out when i get some time and i will let u know if i encounter some issues! thx dude!

d1mitrov
06-12-2011, 01:13 PM
ok so this is what free space says...im assuming i dont have my old partition anymore.
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d106/d1mitrov/2011-06-12_141052.png
also another thing, right now everytime i restart my phone the fb app setting for sync goes back to dont sync and i have to change it manually....any idea on that? kinda annoying!!

danger-rat
06-12-2011, 03:45 PM
Agreed, it looks like you don't have an ext partition.

For FB, have you tried deleting data from the app and rebooting? That usually fixes data corruption issues...

40ftcobb
06-13-2011, 04:04 PM
Haha so I've been trying to find DT and no luck I saw this thread and was hoping one of you masters of the Droid could point me in the right direction

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

DudeRandom21
06-13-2011, 04:11 PM
What do you mean you've been trying to find DT? Do you mean a download link? If so then here [Script][A2SD]Darktremor 2.7.5.3 Beta 04 [N1] (01/29/2011) - xda-developers (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=715940) if not then can you specify a little.

40ftcobb
06-13-2011, 04:14 PM
Ya I meant the link,all I kept finding was add ons I guess to dt, different ui's and junk,sorry for the confusion and thanks

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

DudeRandom21
06-13-2011, 04:18 PM
No worrys and your very welcome although I'll just add in that there are a few versions there I personally only use the latest stable release e.i. 2.7.5.2 I don't use the beta 4.

d1mitrov
06-14-2011, 08:19 PM
ok so i did everything this is what free space says now
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d106/d1mitrov/2011-06-14_211502.png
its much better. a couple things tho, most gaps still say they are on the phone and when u go to move them to sd card it still wont let u. also some widgets still wont work unless the program is stored on the phone, i thought DT was supposed to bypass that?

DudeRandom21
06-14-2011, 08:23 PM
It does it's because to use darktremor you need to have the apps installed on internal because the phone thinks that the EXT partition is actually the internal storage if you move them to the SD card it takes them from the EXT partition and puts them in the .android_secure folder on the SD card.

d1mitrov
06-14-2011, 08:29 PM
ook so did i do something wrong? i backed up my sd card, partitioned the sd card(which wiped it), put all the stuff back on the sd card, then ran the dt commands to move all apps from internal to the partition. is the option under settings, applications, manage applications, where u can move them around useless now?

DudeRandom21
06-14-2011, 08:34 PM
More or less yes because the command "a2sd reinstall" makes it so that the phone installs all apps on internal to the ext partition and when you use the app2sd on the phone in manage applications it will just move the apps to the SD card (fat32 partition) instead of the ext partition which is pretty useless because the apps run better on the ext then the fat32.

So the simple answer to your question would be yes but I wanted to elaborate a little more hope you understand ;)

d1mitrov
06-14-2011, 08:40 PM
so should i go in that option, move all apps back on phone, and then run the dt command again?

DudeRandom21
06-14-2011, 08:46 PM
Well in theory if you ran the reinstall command all the apps that go to internal will go to ext but yes you should move all the apps on the SD card to the internal. If you want to check if they're on the ext partition then go into a root explorer (like estrong with root explorer enabled or plain old root explorer but that is paid) and go to /sd-ext/app and look to see if all your apps are there.

d1mitrov
06-14-2011, 09:37 PM
ok it says all the gaps are on the sd-ext even tho under options and app management it says they are on internal. some other ones are there as well. the interesting thing is that i ran a2sd install which should have made all newly installed apps go to the sd-ext and i just downloaded root explorer and that is not showing up in the aps folder under sd-ext :confused:

DudeRandom21
06-14-2011, 09:40 PM
Try running "a2sd reinstall" again and see what happens.

danger-rat
06-14-2011, 11:27 PM
Sd-ext is now effectively internal, or at least that's what your phone thinks...

Check that your phone settings are to install to internal, also. CM has the ability to set the default install location...

40ftcobb
06-15-2011, 01:51 PM
Question any reason why my partition would disappear? 8579
As you can see its not there,I have a 8gig SD card my partition is 2gig but I don't understand what happiness,I did show it,I flash cm7 and had to reinstall free space and now its gone,my SD says 5+gigs of space but the partion is not showing up

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

danger-rat
06-15-2011, 01:56 PM
It's not gone, it's hiding... xD

Using the ext takes two steps:
1 - Create an ext partition (which you have).
2 - Trick the phone into things it's part of the phone.

When you installed CM, you overwrote the sym links that tell your phone to look at ext instead of /data. Flash DT again...

40ftcobb
06-15-2011, 03:22 PM
Lol now I got issues,so I reflash dt,lost my screen,buttons would light up but no screen.so full wipe,format system,reflash cm7 then dt then gapps.downloaded tapatalk and freespace,went to terminal,
Such
a2sd cachesdreset
Loads up dt,then tells me can't find dalvik cache can't create file
Now I try to download acouple apps and it wont let any install

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

danger-rat
06-15-2011, 03:25 PM
That's weird!?
Have you tried fixing permissions?

Which recovery are you using, and which version of DT?

40ftcobb
06-15-2011, 03:29 PM
I'm using amonra and its dt 2.7.5.2-1,I just tried to rerun the commands and still wont install and now setting force closes everyone I try to open it

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

40ftcobb
06-15-2011, 03:32 PM
Ok so, phone,messaging,browser,books,nothing opens just tapatalk and freespace

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

danger-rat
06-15-2011, 04:09 PM
Hmmmmmm... Did you try fixing permissions via ROM manager?

d1mitrov
06-15-2011, 04:12 PM
haha im having a similar problem certain apps wont work...for example when i click on Zedge it says this app requires a sd-card...other apps are just missing...

40ftcobb
06-15-2011, 04:16 PM
No no yet I just had to reflash cm7 cause I lost my screen again.now I was reading on the post where I downloaded dt the alot of Rome don't support ext4,would that be my problem?its a 2gig ext4 partition

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

danger-rat
06-15-2011, 04:20 PM
Could be. I use a 1gb ext3 (made via CWM) with the alt version of DT. I flash CM7, DT, then gapps in that order, boot, and type "a2sd cachesdreset"...

40ftcobb
06-15-2011, 07:40 PM
Ok so update
Started from scratch,total wipe of my sdcard,format and repartition.
This time went for 1gb space and ext3 instead of ext4.
After restoring my sdcard,went into terminal a2sd cachesdreset.
Phone rebooted everything seems good,root explorer says dalvik is in sd-ext,so lesson learned dt is wacky with ext4.
But here's another question,do my apps auto dl to the ext, or is that a separate command? Oh and should I change the path for install in cm setting to external?

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

40ftcobb
06-15-2011, 07:57 PM
Lol nevermind I got it thanks for the help man

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

virusforever
06-23-2011, 02:31 PM
I am on cm7 but unable to install any app from the market

40ftcobb
06-23-2011, 11:49 PM
Hmm,are you signed in to your Google account? Is it a fresh flash?

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

Beer Goggles
06-24-2011, 03:46 PM
Hey Guys,

I just created an ext3 partition (512MB) and used s2e to free up some space. I went from 32MB free to 59MB free.

My question is: How do I get the apps that are on the SD cards moved to the ext3 partition?

Thanks,
BG

DudeRandom21
06-24-2011, 03:50 PM
Go into terminal and type the following commands (// are comments):

su
a2sd reinstall // this will move all apps to the SD card and then the phone will reboot
a2sd cachesd //this will move the dalvik cache to the SD and the phone will reboot

Beer Goggles
06-24-2011, 04:07 PM
Go into terminal and type the following commands (// are comments):

su
a2sd reinstall // this will move all apps to the SD card and then the phone will reboot
a2sd cachesd //this will move the dalvik cache to the SD and the phone will reboot

What about apps that were moved to the SD before I created the ext3 partition?

Also, I don't have a2sd

DudeRandom21
06-24-2011, 04:10 PM
They will remain in the .android-secure folder but if you move them back to the phone they will go to the ext because any app that goes to the internal will go to the ext instead.

Beer Goggles
06-24-2011, 04:16 PM
They will remain in the .android-secure folder but if you move them back to the phone they will go to the ext because any app that goes to the internal will go to the ext instead.

I don't have a2sd, I'm using s2e

DudeRandom21
06-24-2011, 04:17 PM
I'm not sure I understand, when you say you don't have a2sd do you mean darktremor or do you mean you don't have regular apps2sd??

Beer Goggles
06-24-2011, 04:25 PM
I'm not sure I understand, when you say you don't have a2sd do you mean darktremor or do you mean you don't have regular apps2sd??

When I ran the terminal and su, it could not find the 'a2sd' command.

I've already use s2e to move some data to the ext3 (for now I moved the dalvik-cache also)

DudeRandom21
06-24-2011, 04:31 PM
very strange :confused: did you try doing "a2sd help" (after doing "su" obviously)

Beer Goggles
06-24-2011, 04:34 PM
very strange :confused: did you try doing "a2sd help" (after doing "su" obviously)

As I said, the a2sd command is not found.

Where does it come from? What program installs it?

DudeRandom21
06-24-2011, 04:36 PM
To get a2sd you need to flash darktremor. Now just for the fun of it could you go in a file explorer and tell me if you have sd-ext folder on your phones internal storage.

Beer Goggles
06-24-2011, 04:44 PM
To get a2sd you need to flash darktremor. Now just for the fun of it could you go in a file explorer and tell me if you have sd-ext folder on your phones internal storage.

Indeed I do.... as I mentioned, I've already moved some program data and the dalvik-cache using s2e

DudeRandom21
06-24-2011, 04:55 PM
Ok that's cool I just wanted to make sure you had some type of a2ext already installed because the phone will not recognize the ext unless there something. Now to get apps to the ext you'll need to flash darktremor I suggest 2.5.7.2-1 [Script][A2SD]Darktremor 2.7.5.3 Beta 04 [N1] (01/29/2011) - xda-developers (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=715940)

Beer Goggles
06-24-2011, 05:06 PM
Do Darktremor and s2e get along with each other?

DudeRandom21
06-24-2011, 05:20 PM
Well according to a slightly long google search no your only supposed to use one at a time but if you want to take the chance and run both of them it's up to you, if you don't then you'll need to uninstall s2e and install dt cause with dt you can move the dalvik to the sd as well.

Beer Goggles
06-24-2011, 05:30 PM
Well according to a slightly long google search no your only supposed to use one at a time but if you want to take the chance and run both of them it's up to you, if you don't then you'll need to uninstall s2e and install dt cause with dt you can move the dalvik to the sd as well.

As I mentioned (a couple of times), I've already moved the dalvik-cache with s2e.

Thanks for your help Dude....

DudeRandom21
06-24-2011, 05:33 PM
Yes I know but I'm saying that you only need darktremor you can uninstall s2e because supposedly they don't get along so well and you will have the same options.