PDA

View Full Version : What is Rooting?

Uptheirons726
05-18-2011, 04:05 PM
I know I know I'm a noob but I'm new here and I see everyone talking about "rooting" their phone. What does this mean? Id like to install Gingerbread on my G2 also. Any tips ideas links would all be awesome!

The Shredi Knight

Droid-Xer
05-18-2011, 04:09 PM
Rooting is gaining administrative access to your device. You can access system files which are untouchale on a stock phone. Rooting normally requires you run an automated program on your PC while your phone is connected, or use an app on your phone, or run manual commands via adb. I'm unsure on the sammies how its done. But I'm sure someone will chime in.

Mujibar
05-18-2011, 04:31 PM
On my phone via Tapatalk right now, so I can't see your phone model. Which Sammy are we talking about?

Tapatalk'd

Uptheirons726
05-19-2011, 06:44 PM
What's a Sammy? Lol

The Shredi Knight

Mujibar
05-19-2011, 09:38 PM
Samsung

Tapatalk'd

SLAG IT!
05-19-2011, 11:23 PM
I thought it was a sandwich. Lol I am joking.

Uptheirons726
05-20-2011, 05:51 PM
I don't have a Samsung. T-Mobile G2 here.

The Shredi Knight

barbela
05-27-2011, 01:40 PM
What is Rooting?
“Rooting” your device means obtaining “superuser” rights and permissions to your Android’s software. With these elevated user privileges, you gain the ability to load custom software (ROM’s), install custom themes, increase performance, increase battery life, and the ability to install software that would otherwise cost extra money (ex: WiFi tethering). Rooting is essentially “hacking” your Android device. In the iPhone world, this would be the equivalent to “Jailbreaking” your phone.

phillycodehound
05-27-2011, 03:20 PM
Rooting is great. There is a program out there called Gingerbreak that will root your Gingerbread OS for you. One click and you're rooted. Keep in mind that rooting most of the time voids your warrant. But IMHO it's worth it because of the customizations you can do with it.