PDA

View Full Version : I may have bricked my HERO2000 trying to flash a custom ROM.

chrisdegraw
09-20-2010, 03:27 AM
I'm new to this whole flashing custom ROMS business. I have a CDMA HTC Hero 2000 and I downgraded to the original 2.1 before the update just fine, rooted my phone just fine. Then I tried to flash Aloysius to it using instructions I found here: [Complete Guide] How To Flash A Custom ROM To Your Android Phone With ROM Manager + Full Backup & Restore | Android News, Reviews, Applications, Games, Phones, Devices, Tips, Mods, Videos, Podcasts - Android Police

After all was said and done, my phone starts to boot with the "HTC quitely brilliant" logo, following by "SPRINT the Now network" logo and after it shows "Now" for many seconds (as it normally does before pulling up the home screen), it reverts back to the HTC logo and repeats this process until I remove the battery.

I removed the microSD and attempted to boot, same thing. Then I held down HOME+BACK+POWER to do a manual hard reset, this took a little longer but again had the same result.

I may just cry now. Please help! :(

jak89
09-20-2010, 03:31 AM
Chris did you do a nand backup before you flashed? You didn't brick your phone you are in a boot loop. It can be fixed dont worry. The process depends on if you did a backup or not.

chrisdegraw
09-20-2010, 03:36 AM
no I did not. I was thinking that I just wiped everything off my phone so a backup would not be necessary. clearly I was wrong. so what's next?

jak89
09-20-2010, 03:52 AM
Ok well i dont need to tell you now but first thing you do when flashing anything is a backup. Now first thing i would try is reflashing the rom. Boot the phone into recovery.
1. Pull the battery
2. There is a combo of buttons to boot your phone into recovery. On the Evo its power and volume held until the phone boots. Not sure what the buttons are on the Hero.
3. Select recovery
4. flash zip from sd card
5. select zip
6. go to Aloysius and select
7. boot