PDA

View Full Version : Please Help, HDMI Mirroring Issue



Droidfreak87
03-30-2012, 11:01 AM
I recently purchased an hdmi cable for my droid bionic off of amazon. I've had the cable for not even a week, it's been working great until today. I had been watching some YouTube videos on our hdtv, when I got through one, I got up and left the room for literally about a minute. When I returned, the background had a blue tint to it and was a bit staticy. I tried to play other videos, but as soon as they would start, the picture would roll and then just go into pretty much just straight static. Is there anyone who could shed some light onto this matter for me? The phone itself still works fine so I doubt my issue is the phone, but I'm not sure. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Android.net

Droid-Xer
03-30-2012, 03:14 PM
Hmm did you try to just reconnect the cable? I know when I mirror using my xoom I have issues so I unplug and plug the cable back again.

Droidfreak87
04-29-2012, 08:48 AM
Yup, tried that a couple times. Even tried moving the cable from hdmi 1 to hdmi 2, still just had the blue-tinted screen and static.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Android.net

Droid-Xer
04-30-2012, 04:19 PM
Well since it worked before and now it doesn't, its probably a faulty cable. That would be my only guess. Do you have another cable to try? Or perhaps try on another TV?

Droidfreak87
05-01-2012, 11:07 PM
That's what I'm thinking, as nothing is wrong with my tv or my phone. I ordered another cable on Sunday, it should be here sometime this week. The only tv the cable would work on is our hdtv in the living room, which is the one I tried it on. I'm gonna try not "hot plugging" this cable, I hot plugged the other one and I think that may have caused it to do the "blue screen of death" like it did.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Android.net

Droidfreak87
05-08-2012, 10:31 PM
Well I got my new cable in and it's doing the same thing the other one did, which leads me to believe the issue lies within my phone or tv. Gonna try my wife's bionic on it, see what it does...

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Android.net

Droidfreak87
05-20-2012, 08:48 AM
Just hooked up my wife's bionic to hdmi and it worked fine. Tried my phone again right afterward and it's still doing the same thing, blue staticy screen and goes to complete static when I try to mirror video. Is there anything that can correct this or do I have to get a new phone?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Android.net

Droid-Xer
05-21-2012, 01:16 PM
Try going to settings/apps/manage apps/all/and look for the HDMI sync app. If you find one then clear data. That's all I can think if.

Droidfreak87
05-21-2012, 11:36 PM
Just tried that and couldn't find anything. Would it be under a different name?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Android.net

Droidfreak87
06-18-2012, 06:58 PM
Found one, it is com.motorola.android.mirrorservice or something like that. The "Clear Data" option was transparent so I could not do that, but I was able to force stop it. Hopefully that works, this whole mirroring thing is driving me nuts because literally everything else on the phone works great except for this and I love to be able to mirror and watch YouTube videos on our HDTV. I've even been considering re-subscribing to netflix so I can just mirror it to our TV. I'd hate to have to send my phone in to Motorola just because of this :/ I've heard some horror stories of Motorola's customer service. I'd really appreciate it if anyone could help. Thanks in advance.

Blake

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Android.net

royfernandez
06-19-2012, 06:42 AM
Found one, it is com.motorola.android.mirrorservice or something like that. The "Clear Data" option was transparent so I could not do that, but I was able to force stop it. Hopefully that works, this whole mirroring thing is driving me nuts because literally everything else on the phone works great except for this and I love to be able to mirror and watch YouTube videos on our HDTV. I've even been considering re-subscribing to netflix so I can just mirror it to our TV. I'd hate to have to send my phone in to Motorola just because of this :/ I've heard some horror stories of Motorola's customer service. I'd really appreciate it if anyone could help. Thanks in advance.

Blake

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Android.net


Check if the refresh rate is set at 60 HZ and if you can, why not a hard reset?

Droidfreak87
06-21-2012, 07:52 AM
Check if the refresh rate is set at 60 HZ and if you can, why not a hard reset?

How do I check/adjust the refresh rate? I'll do the hard reset if I have to, but I'd like to avoid it if possible.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Android.net

Droidfreak87
06-23-2012, 01:41 PM
Couldn't figure out the refresh rate thing and a hard reset didn't fix the problem :(

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Android.net