PDA

View Full Version : Ringtones



greekflip
03-20-2010, 12:53 PM
Having an issue importing ringtones on my flip. When i try wap i cant get to dl the file just listen to it. No option on my browser to dl it. Also when i plug my phone on my pc after the initial hardware found notification, the pc doesnt see it afterwards. Is there a setting on the phone that i need to adjust that way i can move my ringtones from my pc to my phone?

TIA

Spoonman
03-20-2010, 03:25 PM
plug it into the comp and select usb drive on the phone. put the ring tones there and you should beable to select them to use(either through the ringtone selector or navigating there via a file manager)

tae_254
03-20-2010, 03:51 PM
Where are you trying to download ringtones from when you use wap.

greekflip
03-20-2010, 04:24 PM
plug it into the comp and select usb drive on the phone. put the ring tones there and you should beable to select them to use(either through the ringtone selector or navigating there via a file manager)

where is the usb option?

greekflip
03-20-2010, 04:24 PM
Where are you trying to download ringtones from when you use wap.

it doesnt give me an option to dl the file. as soon as i go to the wap url it automatically plays it on the screen.

tae_254
03-20-2010, 04:38 PM
When you plug your phone up to the usb cable it should prompt you on your phone to either charge only or usb drive. If its not saying that you might need the motorola drivers on your computer which can be found on motorolas website.

Have you tried to going to Myxer - Download Ringtones and More (http://www.myxertones.com). I get my ringtones from there and it works great.

greekflip
03-21-2010, 08:16 PM
thanks for the suggestions

montREALady
03-29-2010, 05:13 PM
it doesnt give me an option to dl the file. as soon as i go to the wap url it automatically plays it on the screen.

I just had this same problem yesterday. I downloaded the ringtone from a website onto my phone sd card and there isn't the option to use as ringtone like there is with another imported ringtone I have on my phone.

j101399j
03-30-2010, 08:09 AM
if you put the file on your phone and use ringdroid, it will edit and cut the song to the a format better used by the phone and add it to the ringtone list. I just use my MP3 and ringdroid and I have over 200 ringtones

or


(http://androidforums.com/motorola-backflip/53677-ringtones-music.html#post444345)
If you dont want to install any apps just create a folder called "ringtones" (without the quotes) inside the media folder on your SD card. Put and songs in there that you want to use as a ringtone, note that they wont show up in the media player anymore so if you want them in both places you need two copies of the mp3 (http://androidforums.com/motorola-backflip/53677-ringtones-music.html#post444345)
(http://androidforums.com/motorola-backflip/53677-ringtones-music.html#post444345)

greekflip
03-31-2010, 01:28 AM
i accidentally figured out you have to removed your phone from the pc in order for your ringtones to show up that you imported into your phone. just a heads up for those that dont know.

greekflip
03-31-2010, 01:30 AM
When you plug your phone up to the usb cable it should prompt you on your phone to either charge only or usb drive. If its not saying that you might need the motorola drivers on your computer which can be found on motorolas website.

Have you tried to going to Myxer - Download Ringtones and More (http://www.myxertones.com). I get my ringtones from there and it works great.

it doesnt prompt me when i plug it in. i have to select it in the options. finally figured that out ...

am i demon?
05-01-2010, 09:56 PM
if i have music on my sd, can i make one of those songs a ringtone?

pm me :]

Lendal
05-02-2010, 01:34 AM
if i have music on my sd, can i make one of those songs a ringtone?

pm me :]

I think it shows up as a ring tone choice if it's short enough.

jtrompet
05-02-2010, 07:03 PM
The MP3 needs to be 300k or smaller.
I use Audacity to cut the MP3 to under 300k and keep the exact part i want to be the ringtone.

There is an app that lets you just use any song... not sure the name

jtrompet
05-03-2010, 07:07 PM
OK--- I tried the app I wqas talking about-- It is called "Rings Extended" and works perfect with the BackFlip!

Its free and on the apps market . Read all about it here:

Rings Extended Android App Review by AndroidTapp.com | Android Tapp. Android App Reviews (http://www.androidtapp.com/rings-extended/)

It lets you play ANY MP3 on your 'Flip. can be used as default sound selector, or give u a choice each time you go to change ringtones/sounds.

Just got the B-Flip Friday and have not stopped messing with it. I'm an old moto Q9H user and love google. For ATT this is the best Moto phone. The Blur is actually smart. Hope this post helped.