PDA

View Full Version : Install Visual Voicemail on T-Mobile



Admin
01-07-2010, 01:59 PM
To enable the visual voicemail on T-Mobile, you need to do the following:


Download the app and install it
Call T-Mobile
The rep can't add it automatically via the account features list -- it will error out
The rep has to first manually update your IMEI number (of which you need to read from the back of your box)
Then the rep has to wait for that to update (took several minutes)
Then the rep has to go back to the features list and then add visual voicemail manually

Try changing your phone from Unknown Device to MyTouch 3G at my.t-mobile.com and add the Visual Voicemail under Services
If your voicemail is still being delivered the traditional way wait until you receive a text from T-Mobile (about 24 hours) stating that your account change has been updated, it will then work via the application


Originally from: http://www.nexusoneforum.net/forum/nexus-one-general-discussion/384-visual-voicemail.html#post3244

Other helpful threads:
http://www.nexusoneforum.net/forum/nexus-one-application-discussion/486-visual-voicemail-tmobile-issue.html

Keiran
01-07-2010, 02:01 PM
I actually did not need to read them my IMEI number.

You may mention that if you dial 611 from your phone this will put you in contact with them. ;)

jack2k5
01-07-2010, 02:56 PM
I am using Google Voice to manage my voice mails. There is an App for that (Voice). Google voice will translate the voicemail to text messages (only in English). Very useful feature

ervin10
01-07-2010, 11:27 PM
hello everyone i have a question i just got the n1 today and have a google voice account if i use there voicemail does that use up my mins?

jack2k5
01-07-2010, 11:31 PM
hello everyone i have a question i just got the n1 today and have a google voice account if i use there voicemail does that use up my mins?

Yes it does.

ervin10
01-07-2010, 11:35 PM
Thank you for the response

Apogee
01-08-2010, 06:12 PM
Just a tip I had to wait until I got a text from T-Mobile saying that the feature addition was complete before it would begin working 100%.

fhs1111
01-13-2010, 11:36 AM
is that feature free. when i tried it, it said u have to upgrade ur plan. thats was on the 7th of jan.

Spydaz
01-13-2010, 02:11 PM
Or you can just log onto your account and add it for free from there... Thats what i just did and it works perfecly.

mustang8918
01-13-2010, 10:24 PM
i just logged on and added it to my account and it worked also. I had to change my phone temporarily to a mytouch to get it to show though.

jdeproductions
01-17-2010, 10:07 PM
To enable the visual voicemail on T-Mobile, you need to do the following:


Download the app and install it
Call T-Mobile
The rep can't add it automatically via the account features list -- it will error out
The rep has to first manually update your IMEI number (of which you need to read from the back of your box)
Then the rep has to wait for that to update (took several minutes)
Then the rep has to go back to the features list and then add visual voicemail manually

Try changing your phone from Unknown Device to MyTouch 3G at my.t-mobile.com and add the Visual Voicemail under Services
If your voicemail is still being delivered the traditional way wait until you receive a text from T-Mobile (about 24 hours) stating that your account change has been updated, it will then work via the application


Originally from: http://www.nexusoneforum.net/forum/nexus-one-general-discussion/384-visual-voicemail.html#post3244

Other helpful threads:
http://www.nexusoneforum.net/forum/nexus-one-application-discussion/486-visual-voicemail-tmobile-issue.html

i called tmobile and read off this list to them,, they did it all and it still dont work, they told me its a phone issue and to call google ?.?.?.?

switch42
01-21-2010, 05:50 PM
I downloaded the app and then setup the service through tmobile.com and I still could not get it to work. I then left a voicemail then uninstalled the app and then reinstalled. Now the app works with no problems.

jdeproductions
01-21-2010, 06:01 PM
I downloaded the app and then setup the service through tmobile.com and I still could not get it to work. I then left a voicemail then uninstalled the app and then reinstalled. Now the app works with no problems.

that worked for me!!!
THX much

switch42
01-21-2010, 06:11 PM
I downloaded the app and then setup the service through tmobile.com and I still could not get it to work. I then left a voicemail then uninstalled the app and then reinstalled. Now the app works with no problems.

that worked for me!!!
THX much

No problem. I am glad that it worked for someone else.

jdeproductions
01-21-2010, 06:11 PM
so,, now do these save as audio files on the phone? or on the t-mobile server?

is there a limit to how many we can save? does it get filled up?

i imagine if there is a limit then they are on the t-mobile server,, if there is no limit then they are saved as audio files on our sd cards

gehinpa
01-31-2010, 01:05 PM
I also set up visual voicemail without having to call t-Mobile:

Go to myTmobile.com
Change your phone type from unknown to MyTouch 3G
Go in to change services
Add Visual Voicemail (no charge)
Go through the confirmation steps.
Download the app from the Marketplace
Install the app and run it.
In my case, I already had a few messages in my mailbox.

I'm not sure how fast the t-mobile network does the update after you have enabled the visual voicemail service. In my case, I think it was maybe 5 minutes or so between the time I confirmed the change on mytmobile.com and successfully ran the app on the N1 and got my mailbox contents.

gehinpa
01-31-2010, 02:04 PM
Pretty poor app in its current form. Does not appear to work (e.g., communicate with the remote voicemail servers) if WiFi is on. That is, has to be in 3G data mode. Also, freezes screen, has repeated forced close, duplicates messages, etc.

Too bad.

christian666
02-07-2010, 02:50 PM
if i also installed google visual voice mail, can i use also tmobile visual voicemail?
cause i have installed both but my tmobile visual voice mail is not working. it keeps asking me to upgrade my service even when i have contact tmobile that i want visual voicemail
any ideas whats going on?
or is it cause i have google visual voicemail?

cortez.i
02-07-2010, 06:31 PM
if i also installed google visual voice mail, can i use also tmobile visual voicemail?
cause i have installed both but my tmobile visual voice mail is not working. it keeps asking me to upgrade my service even when i have contact tmobile that i want visual voicemail
any ideas whats going on?
or is it cause i have google visual voicemail?keep calling them... it took 3 calls before i talked to someone who was able to troubleshoot and correct my problem.

InS0mNiAc
04-02-2010, 04:29 PM
So...when I logged into the t-mobile site and chose the my touch 3g it wouldn't allow me to add the visual voicemail and stated it conflicted with my existing service (already added the android data plan)

Today I downloaded the app, called t-mobile and 5 minutes later everything was working.

bud760
04-03-2010, 02:23 AM
is this visual voicemail by phonefusion?? that's the only one in the market showing up for me

blankenbeker
04-04-2010, 05:54 PM
I tried changing my phone to my touch it wont' do it. Just keeps saying unknown device.

InS0mNiAc
04-04-2010, 05:56 PM
is this visual voicemail by phonefusion?? that's the only one in the market showing up for me

No I got the tmobile app, its there if you search for visual voicemail

disbj4ke
04-04-2010, 08:01 PM
I tried changing my phone to my touch it wont' do it. Just keeps saying unknown device.


It was doing that for me the other day also. I just logged out and signed back in and then it allowed me to change it. BUT once i changed to the Mytouch 3g and went to try and add visual voicemail it told me i needed to change my plan to a mytouch android data plan before i could go any farther, I got scared that i would mess up my plan so i stopped and I'll just call Tmobile sometime this week if I have time. Its not the highest thing on my priority list at the moment.

Shower
04-22-2010, 06:11 AM
There is an App for that (Voice). Google voice will translate the voicemail to text messages.

waylo
05-08-2010, 06:13 PM
Anyone get visual voicemail to work under the older T-Zones web plan? I tried adding the visual voicemail selection on my T-Mobile account website, but it won't let me do that without "upgrading" from my grandfathered T-Zones to the new data plan.

Um, no freakin' way!

alphawave7
05-08-2010, 06:57 PM
Anyone get visual voicemail to work under the older T-Zones web plan? I tried adding the visual voicemail selection on my T-Mobile account website, but it won't let me do that without "upgrading" from my grandfathered T-Zones to the new data plan.

Um, no freakin' way!

Nope. Need full data to do this,too.

elliotbevan
05-14-2010, 12:44 AM
I actually did not need to read them my IMEI number.

You may mention that if you dial 611 from your phone this will put you in contact with them. ;)

That is what I am thinking as well. What does an IMEI has to do with the installation of the app?

bukzin
06-24-2010, 05:55 PM
To enable the visual voicemail on T-Mobile, you need to do the following:


Download the app and install it
Call T-Mobile
The rep can't add it automatically via the account features list -- it will error out
The rep has to first manually update your IMEI number (of which you need to read from the back of your box)
Then the rep has to wait for that to update (took several minutes)
Then the rep has to go back to the features list and then add visual voicemail manually
Try changing your phone from Unknown Device to MyTouch 3G at my.t-mobile.com and add the Visual Voicemail under Services
If your voicemail is still being delivered the traditional way wait until you receive a text from T-Mobile (about 24 hours) stating that your account change has been updated, it will then work via the application


Originally from: http://www.nexusoneforum.net/forum/nexus-one-general-discussion/384-visual-voicemail.html#post3244

Other helpful threads:
http://www.nexusoneforum.net/forum/nexus-one-application-discussion/486-visual-voicemail-tmobile-issue.html


What is the full name of the app?

Could someone post a link to it?

Thanks!

n1n1
08-26-2010, 01:27 PM
Anyone get visual voicemail to work under the older T-Zones web plan? I tried adding the visual voicemail selection on my T-Mobile account website, but it won't let me do that without "upgrading" from my grandfathered T-Zones to the new data plan.

Um, no freakin' way!

Nope. Need full data to do this,too.

You don't need full data to do this. I have the old grandfathered $3 t-zone, and I got it set up and working. Problem is that I now get 2 notification that I got voicemail. One is from the visual voicemail and the one that you usually get that you have to dial in to the box to listen.

Zehlek
08-26-2010, 09:33 PM
Anyone get Visual Voicemail to work with Rogers