PDA

View Full Version : 02 (UK) PAYG Sim Data Settings



jWilko23
01-09-2010, 07:48 AM
Hi Everyone,

Despite a completely fruitless conversation with O2 customer service I have managed to get 3G data up and running on my Nexus One using an O2 (UK) PAYG Sim.

Here's how to do it :

From the home screen...
press Menu hard key
select Settings
select Wireless and Networks
select Mobile Networks
select Access Point Names (APN)

Now you want to Add an APN...

press Menu hard key
select New APN

Now enter the following settings :

Name: O2 PAYG Data
APN: payandgo.o2.co.uk
Proxy: 193.113.200.195
Port: 8080
Username: payandgo
Password: password
Server: *LEAVE BLANK*
MMSC: *LEAVE BLANK*
MMS Proxy: *LEAVE BLANK*
MMS Port: *LEAVE BLANK*
MCC: 234
MNC: 10
APN Type: default

press Menu hard key
select Save

That should do it. If you've got wifi turned on it will be used instead of mobile data - so to test it you need to turn off wifi... it took probably about 20 seconds to make the switch for me...

Thanks to user JMF for helping me get to this solution with his details about config with an iPhone O2 sim on this post (http://www.nexusoneforum.net/forum/nexus-one-general-discussion/536-fao-uk-based-nexus-one-owners-prospective-current.html). And the PAYG specific changes from Ixtana_ran over on xda-developers.com in this post (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=390017).

eski141
02-26-2010, 12:53 PM
thanks for the post buddy works fine with mine :)

Fury
03-03-2010, 12:37 PM
i set everythiing up,
it says 3G at the bar uptop, the arrows are gray and i still cant use the net with wifi disabled :|

any ideas? or have i done something wrong?



Edit: Nvm worked, then sucked all my credit...

btw, the little satalite dish icon is the 3G on off switch right?

blundell
03-08-2010, 11:15 AM
no the GPS dish is your GPS on off ... you cant turn 3g on or off it just takes it when it has the signal

lucia
03-08-2010, 12:41 PM
Thank you! It worked. At least I can connect to internet.
O2 send me another port number.
O2 send me also info about MMS, I'm wondering if I should consider it or not.

Stewie!
04-24-2010, 12:58 PM
Thanks dude, i finally got it working <3


it might be worth mentioning that unless you want 0p credit after a few mins of interweb surfing, you gonna want to sign up to an 02 web bolt on

savage24
05-15-2010, 07:38 AM
Hi Everyone,

Despite a completely fruitless conversation with O2 customer service I have managed to get 3G data up and running on my Nexus One using an O2 (UK) PAYG Sim.

Here's how to do it :

From the home screen...
press Menu hard key
select Settings
select Wireless and Networks
select Mobile Networks
select Access Point Names (APN)

Now you want to Add an APN...

press Menu hard key
select New APN

Now enter the following settings :

Name: O2 PAYG Data
APN: payandgo.o2.co.uk
Proxy: 193.113.200.195
Port: 8080
Username: payandgo
Password: password
Server: *LEAVE BLANK*
MMSC: *LEAVE BLANK*
MMS Proxy: *LEAVE BLANK*
MMS Port: *LEAVE BLANK*
MCC: 234
MNC: 10
APN Type: default

press Menu hard key
select Save

That should do it. If you've got wifi turned on it will be used instead of mobile data - so to test it you need to turn off wifi... it took probably about 20 seconds to make the switch for me...

Thanks to user JMF for helping me get to this solution with his details about config with an iPhone O2 sim on this post (http://www.nexusoneforum.net/forum/nexus-one-general-discussion/536-fao-uk-based-nexus-one-owners-prospective-current.html). And the PAYG specific changes from Ixtana_ran over on xda-developers.com in this post (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=390017).

my wife was on pay and go with 02 / iphone and changed to android, only difference was the username needed changing to "vertigo" and for mms to work, needed to make another APN with same details but with these extra settings >

MMSC: mmsc.mms.o2.co.uk:8002
MMS Proxy: 193.113.200.195:8080

just thought might be helpful if ppl looking, took me a while looking for settings, and didnt find em, then i just looked in the iphone settings lol

aquilon
06-11-2010, 04:07 AM
Hi,

I've just got my Nexus One. I did all the settings above and manage to get connected to the internet but I can't connect to the 3G. It only shows G on my connection. I was using 3G on my N95 without any problem but when I change to Nexus One, I can't connect to 3G. Any recommendations?