PDA

View Full Version : Reverse Tether - Getting Internet on your phone



Fury
03-04-2010, 08:48 AM
Just after i got my nexus, i wanted to download some apps, but coudent due to lack of internet,

The school wifi was proxied and no matter how hard i tried i could not get it to work.

O2 3G sucked all my credit in miuntes...

So i finally found a way to get it working,

1- Download Connectify:
Connectify - Turn your Windows 7 laptop into a Wi-Fi Hotspot (http://connectify.me/)

2- Install:

http://i46.tinypic.com/wvoc38.jpg

3- Open it up:

http://i45.tinypic.com/xby4d2.jpg

4- Set up:
Hit the little Wifi icon in your taskbar

http://i50.tinypic.com/1564jlh.jpg

The numbers:
[1] The Name that your phone will find in wifi connections
[2] The password
[3] The connection you are sharing, i have several different saved wifi spots, connect to the one your using, and set the Internet to that same connection.

Hit Start hotspot and connect ;)

Enjoy!

thomaslkuo
03-04-2010, 12:45 PM
Just after i got my nexus, i wanted to download some apps, but coudent due to lack of internet,

The school wifi was proxied and no matter how hard i tried i could not get it to work.

O2 3G sucked all my credit in miuntes...

So i finally found a way to get it working,

1- Download Connectify:
Connectify - Turn your Windows 7 laptop into a Wi-Fi Hotspot (http://connectify.me/)

2- Install:

http://i46.tinypic.com/wvoc38.jpg

3- Open it up:

http://i45.tinypic.com/xby4d2.jpg

4- Set up:
Hit the little Wifi icon in your taskbar

http://i50.tinypic.com/1564jlh.jpg

The numbers:
[1] The Name that your phone will find in wifi connections
[2] The password
[3] The connection you are sharing, i have several different saved wifi spots, connect to the one your using, and set the Internet to that same connection.

Hit Start hotspot and connect ;)

Enjoy!

so if I use my pda net to usb tether my laptop, then use connectify
to broadcast the signal then I can connect two laptops in wifi hotspot, nice!!

Fury
03-04-2010, 01:30 PM
looks like it,
lol have fun ;)

Vladi AK
03-11-2010, 11:11 AM
I'm in Iraq, I don't have Internet options with cellular provider. Was excited about this thread to finally get sum apps on the phone and check it out online, but here is the thing. In here, we connect to the router thru wireless and then to broadband connection with username and password. Any way I can make it work?

Fury
04-08-2010, 11:16 PM
What sort of username and password?

Is it an internet password? is so, then this will work,

If it is a proxy, im afraid not, iv tried but cannot get it to work.

Vladi AK
04-09-2010, 01:08 AM
it's a separate connection. just the way to get online. u connect to company router first. then you connect to broadband connection with username and password that company provides you.

Fury
04-10-2010, 10:15 AM
Im not sure, i suggest you give it a shot, and test if it works...

Budske
04-10-2010, 10:57 AM
this can be done with any wireless card.

u need a wired connection on the pc, and use the wireless card and make a new connection in there u will get the option "...computer-to-computer (ad hook)..." and thats it.

i use this on my girlfriend house, i connect my wireless usb card and set the wireless ad hook and i connect to internet thou her desktop pc (using my netbook), you really dont need any external program. maybe i will make a guide to do it

Yoonjin90
04-17-2010, 03:38 PM
Wow this is amazing. Just did ur Tut in 3 minutes and its working :) Thanks!

tonybhoy
04-17-2010, 04:25 PM
only for win 7 :( not vista

Yoonjin90
04-17-2010, 04:43 PM
only for win 7 :( not vista
Its 2010, of course its for windows7

tonybhoy
04-17-2010, 04:52 PM
only for win 7 :( not vista
Its 2010, of course its for windows7tried it for 6 weeks and reverted back

Fury
04-18-2010, 10:50 AM
should work on xp and vista havent tried tho.

whats the problem your having?


Glad it helped Yoonj

tonybhoy
04-18-2010, 11:24 AM
its just saying its for win 7 might have to upgrade to get it

yohanevindra
06-08-2010, 06:11 AM
my nexus one cant detect the hotspot created by connectify...

Backnblack
06-08-2010, 06:54 AM
only for win 7 :( not vista

Yup, This is a built in function of Win7 Only

bobbyphoenix
06-08-2010, 05:35 PM
WOW! Very nice. Thanks for the info. Works like a charm!

westmeadboy
06-22-2010, 04:25 AM
You can read more here: Connectify - Turn your Windows 7 laptop into a Wi-Fi Hotspot - Supported Cards and Devices (http://www.connectify.me/docs/supportedcards.html)

Some network cards don't support AP mode. This is true in my case and the only option I have for sharing my wired internet connection is AdHoc (Open or WEP). However, the N1 is unable to connect to adhoc networks AFAICT.

Or is there another way?

Big Fella
06-30-2010, 12:48 AM
I have Connectify working on my PC and my N1 can see the SSID but can not obtain an IP address. Connectify can also see my N1 trying to connect. Has anyone got Connectify and their N1 to work properly? If yes, how?

Thanks, BF

GoofyG28
06-30-2010, 03:46 AM
I use my N1 on Connectify (Win7) all the time. No problems... except for last night. My N1 was having wifi connectivity issues (which it sometimes does) connecting to either my friend's wifi router or Connectify. My laptop (Thinkpad X200T) was able to connect to the router no prob, so I thought I'd turn on Connectify for my N1. However, my N1 was stuck at "Obtaining IP Address...". Similarly, when connecting to the router, my N1 would try to connect, then says "disconnected" -- and this cycle repeats itself infinitely.

I was using FRF73 last night. Just now, I upgraded to FRF85B (T-Mobile), so maybe my N1's wifi is more stable.

BTW, I did nothing specify with my Connectify. I ran the wizard and got everything up and running. I also upgraded to version 2 (or was it 2.1) last night.

Big Fella
06-30-2010, 03:56 AM
GoofyG28,

My PC is a new Vaio Z series with Win 7 and I have the latest version of Connectify. I also have updated my N1 to FRF85B. Still no joy. I notice that on Connectify only lets me select the "Wireless Network Connection" in the box next to "Wi-Fi" yet when I go to "Network and Sharing Centre" it shows Connectify using the virtual wireless connection. Maybe this is related to the problem??

BTW - my N1 has no problem connecting to all other normal hotspots.

I notice you're in Singapore. Are you using Connectify along with a US proxy server to gain access to a better app marketplace? Does this actually work?

Thanks, BF

GoofyG28
06-30-2010, 04:58 AM
GoofyG28,

My PC is a new Vaio Z series with Win 7 and I have the latest version of Connectify. I also have updated my N1 to FRF85B. Still no joy. I notice that on Connectify only lets me select the "Wireless Network Connection" in the box next to "Wi-Fi" yet when I go to "Network and Sharing Centre" it shows Connectify using the virtual wireless connection. Maybe this is related to the problem??

BTW - my N1 has no problem connecting to all other normal hotspots.

I notice you're in Singapore. Are you using Connectify along with a US proxy server to gain access to a better app marketplace? Does this actually work?

Thanks, BF

I haven't tried Connectify with FRF85B. I'll give it a shot later.

I'm actually from the US, but I currently work/live in Singapore. In order for me to access the paid apps, my workaround is to stick in an old Cingular (yes, Cingular... haha) SIM card that is already deactivated and no longer usable. When I use that SIM card, I can see all the paid apps via wifi, but the "top paid apps" tab is missing in the market. For updating any paid apps, I also have to insert my Cingular SIM card.

I actually did try using Connectify when connected to my company's VPN (US based IP address), but that didn't work. Haven't tried a proxy yet, though.

Fizzi
07-04-2010, 02:20 AM
I use my N1 on Connectify (Win7) all the time. No problems... except for last night. My N1 was having wifi connectivity issues (which it sometimes does) connecting to either my friend's wifi router or Connectify. My laptop (Thinkpad X200T) was able to connect to the router no prob, so I thought I'd turn on Connectify for my N1. However, my N1 was stuck at "Obtaining IP Address...". Similarly, when connecting to the router, my N1 would try to connect, then says "disconnected" -- and this cycle repeats itself infinitely.

I was using FRF73 last night. Just now, I upgraded to FRF85B (T-Mobile), so maybe my N1's wifi is more stable.

BTW, I did nothing specify with my Connectify. I ran the wizard and got everything up and running. I also upgraded to version 2 (or was it 2.1) last night.

I was also having a very similar issue to what you described. For me, disabling my Windows Firewall did the trick.

That said, I haven't put much effort into isolating exactly what was causing it yet, but if disabling it works for you as well and you find out if it was a blocked port, program, or otherwise, please share.

EDIT:
By the way, thanks SO much for posting this Fury. Connectify was exactly what I needed.

Dimitri
07-17-2010, 06:36 PM
I tried connectify but my nexus only ever got as far as obtaining ip, my mom's iphone wasn't able to connect either.

After searching on the internet I eventually found this: Virtual Router - Wifi Hot Spot for Windows 7 / 2008 R2 (http://virtualrouter.codeplex.com/) , it worked for both the iphone and my nexus.

sumit221287
03-16-2011, 12:22 PM
i m sorry to say but u dnt need any special software to do this.. u can create an ad-hoc networking from ur wi-fi settings in any windows..

sliceburgslim
03-16-2011, 12:50 PM
i m sorry to say but u dnt need any special software to do this.. u can create an ad-hoc networking from ur wi-fi settings in any windows..

Care to provide a description of how one would set this up? What if I am running Linux?