Android Installation Help! (Can't Find the JDK)

This is a discussion on Android Installation Help! (Can't Find the JDK) within the Beginning Developers forums, part of the Android Development category; Hello. I have a newbie question and I will appreciate if someone can help me... I installed succesfully android on a notebook and I am ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Android Installation Help! (Can't Find the JDK)

  1. #1
    Android Lurker KansaiRobot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    11

    Android Installation Help! (Can't Find the JDK)

    Hello. I have a newbie question and I will appreciate if someone can help me...

    I installed succesfully android on a notebook and I am now trying to do the same in a desktop. The difference is that in the first one I installed everything from scratch.

    In the desktop though I already have the JDK installed (as well as Eclipse and NetBeans). Now just to make sure I can see:

    J2SE Development Kit 5.0 Update 15.

    There is no mistake that I have Java since I already developed a program with Eclipse (different project)

    Now, when I try to install the Android SDK I get an error message saying

    Java SE Development Kit(JDK) not found!

    Why do you guys think this happen???

    Thanks a lot for the help that you can give me

    Kansai

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Super Moderator Droid-Xer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    2,239
    Thanked
    59 times
    Twitter
    _B0BB0_
    What OS are you running? If you're on Windows, did you download the installer SDK or the regular SDK?

  4. #3
    Android Lurker KansaiRobot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    11
    Thanks for the reply

    I downloaded the installer, but the funny thing is it worked. HOW? well once it says it doesnt find the JDK I press back and then next again and it finds it!!!

    and it is always like this... it complains it cant find it, then back and next and it finds it... Weird... wonder why...

    I havent finished installing it again so probably I will have more questions. Please help me with those as well

    Thanks

    Kansai

  5. #4
    Android Lurker KansaiRobot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    11
    Again, as I thought I am having huge problems installing android (using one day already)

    first, after installing the SDK tools, which is first? Run the Manager or installing the ADT Plugin for eclipse.
    In the home page for android it says first the ADT plugin but it refuses since it cant find things, so it recommends me to run the manager.

    Ok I did and this is what I got

    Name:  android1.JPG
Views: 1097
Size:  61.0 KB
    I am stuck... I dont know what to do....

    why is it that the https location that android recommends is never found. even for installing the SDK I had to force it with http but in this case not even that works...

    help!

  6. #5
    Super Moderator Droid-Xer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    2,239
    Thanked
    59 times
    Twitter
    _B0BB0_
    adb is in the platform-tools so you have to either move everything to there or move everything to tools and use that as your path. Are you going to be developing for android? If not then you don't need eclipse

  7. #6
    Android Lurker KansaiRobot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    11
    I read many pages in the web saying the same thing I found by accident: that problem was solved by going back and forward one time... very weird...

    thank you for the help! and please help me on my other threads as well

  8. #7
    Android Lurker hscoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4
    Some time Android Sdk installation does not able to find the java sdk location. for it you can create a System Environment variable 'JAVA_HOME' and set the Your java SDK path to environment variable value.
    you can check the the details how to create an Environment variable for 'JAVA_HOME'. check this:
    java-se-development-kit-jdk-not-found-during-android-sdk-installation

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. So You Think You Know Android Huh? Let's Find Out...
    By wicked in forum Off-Topic Forum
    Replies: 717
    Last Post: 11-16-2012, 09:11 PM
  2. So how did you find android.net????
    By Garemlin in forum Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 106
    Last Post: 12-10-2011, 12:18 PM
  3. An android phone can't find 850mhz networks
    By kirill578 in forum Android 2.2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-20-2011, 05:00 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-09-2011, 12:25 PM

Search tags for this page

android sdk can't find java
,
android sdk can't find jdk
,
android sdk error failed to find java version
,

android sdk failed to find java

,

android sdk failed to find java version

,
error failed to find java version
,

error failed to find java version android sdk

,

error failed to find java version for

,
error failed to find java version for android sdk
,
error: failed to find java version
,
error: failed to find java version for
,

failed to find java version

,

failed to find java version android sdk

,
failed to find java version for android sdk
,
jdk failed to find java version
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum