Canadian Bell Network?

This is a discussion on Canadian Bell Network? within the Bell Canada forums, part of the Android Phone Carriers category; Your best bet is when the Canadian Nexus is readably available, try it out. Maybe with this version will accommodate the 3G......

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 34

Thread: Canadian Bell Network?

  1. #21
    Senior Member Bishop6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    937
    Your best bet is when the Canadian Nexus is readably available, try it out.

    Maybe with this version will accommodate the 3G...

  2. #22
    Junior Member asechris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4

    IT WORKS ON BELL !! Full 3G Speed !***

    OK Guys, I called tech support 3 different times & finally got ahold of a guy who knew what to do. It turns out the solution IS posted on the bell website even.

    Here is the trick:


    1. Navigate to SETTINGS menu
    2. Choose WIRELESS & NETWORKS
    3. Goto MOBILE NETWORK SETTINGS and press ACCESS POINT NAMES
    4. Press the menu button at bottom (right beside the back key!) and choose NEW APN
    5. Enter BELL in the name field
    6. Enter the following information within the appropriate fields and leave ALL the other fields to default:
      • APN: pda.bell.ca
      • Proxy server: web.wireless.bell.ca
      • Port: 80

    7. Save changes
    8. Smile & Enjoy. The little 3G symbol should appear if you turn Wifi off and try to use the browser or anything else that needs web access.
Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  • #23
    Member plsavaria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    34
    And that works only with the new 850mhz version?

  • #24
    Senior Member Bishop6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    937
    Quote Originally Posted by plsavaria View Post
    And that works only with the new 850mhz version?
    First gen. Nexus uses the 2100MHZ for 3G; so I'm guessing those settings have to be for the 2nd gen. (Canadian market) Nexus One.

  • #25
    Junior Member asechris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Bishop6 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by plsavaria View Post
    And that works only with the new 850mhz version?
    First gen. Nexus uses the 2100MHZ for 3G; so I'm guessing those settings have to be for the 2nd gen. (Canadian market) Nexus One.

    Yes, These are the settings for the 2nd Gen 850MHz Nexus one. When I ordered it I chose the unit that Google specifies as working with Rogers in Canada, but works fine with Bell.

    Chris

  • #26
    Junior Member bugsy1234's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1
    That is great, I will receive my nexus one friday (march 26), is it as easy as going to bell world and buying a sim card and having my plan transfered to the sim card? then just popping it in the nexus?

  • #27
    Senior Member jonno2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    362
    Quote Originally Posted by plsavaria View Post
    Out of curiosity, has anyone ordered a Nexus One from Canada? Is so, do they charge the taxes (both federal and provincial?)?
    Not sure if you know the answer yet but yes, GST and PST are charged - no duty however. Still, that worked out to $70 in BC!!! I wish I still lived in Alberta...

  • #28
    Member plsavaria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    34
    27$ of shipping toward Quebec. Yay.

  • #29
    Senior Member AhmedEltawil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    142
    Google updates Nexus One compatibility to work on TELUS & Bell

    Good news for all Bell & Telus customers

  • #30
    Senior Member NexusDro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    114
    There's another APN setting I saw on the Bell website for the iphone and it also works on the Nexus One. I wonder which one is better. The APN that the iphone uses is pda2.bell.ca. No need to input the Proxy and Port info. Isn't it better if data doesn't go through the proxy server?

  • Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Remove Ads

    http://www.scramblerducati.org/

    Sponsored Links

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  

    Search tags for this page

    bell 3g frequency

    ,

    bell canada 3g freqency

    ,

    bell canada bands

    ,

    bell network band frequency

    ,

    is canada bell same as att

    ,

    what band bell simcard

    ,

    what frequency band for bell 3g

    Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
    Android Forum