Just a quick warning to those upgrading to the new Android 2.1:

On Wednesday Sprint released a new version of Android OS 2.1 with several new features that improve functionality. The upgrade, however, comes with this caveat posted on Sprint's download page:

WARNING: Installing this software will erase your current user data. Please see instructions below for details.

Installing the update will "delete all information from your device,'' including "contacts that have not been synced to an email account, text messages that have not been forwarded, saved voicemail messages older than 5 days, voicemails older than 20 days that have not been listened to, and call history. The calendar and email settings will also revert back to factory defaults."