Rooted WIFI

This is a discussion on Rooted WIFI within the HTC Thunderbolt forums, part of the HTC Android Phones category; I have recently rooted my thunderbolt and downloaded barnacle WiFi tethering. My question is, can Big Red still charge me for downloading too much using ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Rooted WIFI

  1. #1
    Android Lurker cowboy007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    6

    Rooted WIFI

    I have recently rooted my thunderbolt and downloaded barnacle WiFi tethering. My question is, can Big Red still charge me for downloading too much using the barnacle app? I don't want to be paying extra money every month. Thank you for your responses

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Android.net

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Super Moderator/RS SLAG IT!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Somewhere on Kamino
    Posts
    2,814
    Thanked
    84 times
    I would say yes, but, I am not a VZW customer. I would say let one of them answer this for you.

  4. #3
    Android Lurker cowboy007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    6
    Thank you! But, I'm afraid if I do ask them, they will say yes just so I won't do it.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Android.net

  5. #4
    Super Moderator CR6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    1,589
    Thanked
    223 times
    Is it just rooted or have you flashed a custom rom as well? From what I understand, most of your newer roms include a dummy tethering monitor so they can't tell. You may want to get verification on that though from RS in the tbolt forum.
    Good luck!


    Tapatalker!

  6. #5
    Android Lurker cowboy007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    6
    I don't have any roms. I'm new to all of this and I mean NEW lol. I don't know what roms to get, how to install them, or how to use them. This is a foreign land to me. But I greatly appreciate your advise and I will look into it!

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Android.net

  7. #6
    Super Moderator CR6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    1,589
    Thanked
    223 times
    No worries....we were all noobs at one point. Just read up in the tbolt section and don't hesitate to ask questions. You'll get there!



    Tapatalker!

  8. #7
    Super Moderator/RS SLAG IT!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Somewhere on Kamino
    Posts
    2,814
    Thanked
    84 times
    Quote Originally Posted by cowboy007 View Post
    Thank you! But, I'm afraid if I do ask them, they will say yes just so I won't do it.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Android.net
    Sorry I didn't clearify myself I meant one of the RS people that have vzw service.

  9. #8
    Android Lurker cowboy007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    6
    That's ok! I miss read your post. I will have to look into it more also.
    !Update!
    I recently took some advise and flashed a ROM onto my thunderbolt. The dasBAMF sense 3.0 GB RC4. So far its amazing. Some quwerks to work out, but that's part of the fun. I am still unsure if the WiFi tethering is free, but i asked the creator and I am still waiting on a response. Thank you all for your responses and suggestions! They were all very helpful!!

    *It's rooted, its flashed, and its bad ass!*

  10. #9
    Super Moderator/RS furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Two hours north of Syracuse, NY. Yes, there IS civilization that far north.
    Posts
    3,983
    Thanked
    197 times
    Twitter
    FurryVarmint
    Big Red knows when you're tethering. So try not to unless you have to, and try to keep use low. People HAVE been nailed for theft for tethering.
    DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE
    THIS SPACE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK

  11. #10
    Themer htc(hot-taco-cheese)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    479
    Thanked
    9 times
    Twitter
    hotTACOcheese
    A little off topic but, does barnacle use the 4g network? Or does it force you to tether with 3g?

    There is not much to look at in this signature.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. EVO 3D Rooted!
    By danDroid in forum HTC EVO 3D Hacks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-30-2011, 05:28 PM
  2. Am rooted
    By Chrysolite in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-15-2011, 02:54 AM
  3. HTC Thunderbolt Rooted
    By tp76 in forum Android News
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-13-2011, 01:03 PM
  4. HTC Thunderbolt Rooted
    By tp76 in forum Android News from the Members
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-12-2011, 10:06 AM
  5. Nexus S Rooted in Less than a Day!
    By danDroid in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2010, 04:28 PM

Search tags for this page

barnacle wick htc thunderbolt
,

barnacle wifi tether htc thunderbolt

,

barnacle wifi tether thunderbolt

,
barnacle wifi tether with htc thunderbolt
,

barnacle wifi thunderbolt

,
how to use barnacle wifi tether with thunderbolt
,
htc thunderbolt barnacle wifi settings
,
rooted thunderbolt wifi
,
rooted thunderbolt wifi tether
,
rooted thunderbolt wont wirelessly tether
,
rooted wifi thunderbolt
,
wifi app for rooted thunderbolt
,
wifi tether rooted thunderbolt can't disconnect
,
wifi tether thunderbolt
,
wifi tether thunderbolt rooted
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum