Introducing Myself as a Member

This is a discussion on Introducing Myself as a Member within the Introductions & Site Assistance forums, part of the Android Discussions category; Hi all, My name is Jim; I am on Pacific Time (U.S.A.) and have a new Motorola Droid 2 Global (with Verizon). I am completely ...

Thread: Introducing Myself as a Member

Introducing Myself as a Member

Hi all,

My name is Jim; I am on Pacific Time (U.S.A.) and have a new Motorola Droid 2 Global (with Verizon). I am completely new to all of this and want to learn a few things along the way (though have no aspirations of developing the kind of in-depth expertise that many of the members have).
    I do have a few beginning questions:
    1. what is a good source to know good programs from bad ones? The Android Market seems to have everything.
    2. is there a way to search more specifically for applications in the Android Market? There are these broad categories (like Tools) within which there seems to be no internal organization---just hundreds of applications listed, seemingly randomly. Maybe there is an order there I just have not discovered. In Blackberry App World, each major category (such as Utilities) has some sub-categories---and within each one of those one can select an order in which to view the listings, such as alphabetical, newest first, or (my favorite) user ratings. Is there a way to access Android Market listings that way?
    3. does anyone know of a good anti-spam program (like SpamFighter) for e-mail appearing on an Android? I see programs to fight spam on SMS but not yet on e-mail.