Hey I'm new

This is a discussion on Hey I'm new within the Introductions & Site Assistance forums, part of the Android Discussions category; Hey everyone I'm new to Android phones (freed myself from the LG Dare...thank god). I was wondering whats the first thing I want to do ...

Thread: Hey I'm new

Hey everyone I'm new to Android phones (freed myself from the LG Dare...thank god). I was wondering whats the first thing I want to do to start maximizing my performance? which settings to switch, apps to delete, and of course the dreaded, should I root? (especially with the incoming Froyo). Guide in the ways of the Android

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

Hi, welcome to the forum. Have a look around theres lots of good info here. Are you not happy with your phones preformance? The Ally straight out of the box just is what it is. Most enhancements are going to be through software apps and customising. I definetly would get to know your phone, make sure it fits your needs and do some research before you jump into rooting.

Well I've read alot of lag issues with using applications and a touch register being late, due to the low process rate. Personally I'm looking for the best way to get things to run at a smooth fluid pace even if battery life has to take a hit or two

The Ally just is not going to be as snappy as a phone with a faster processor. I played with some of the higher end phones at the store and I noticed this. For me the diffrence was not worth the price difference. The Ally is still very useable. As of right now nobody has been able to overclock the Ally even when rooted. If this does become an option later, accept that there are risks involved and make sure you can afford to take those risks.

Yeah I figured as much... but which options would you suggest turning off