new to this site

This is a discussion on new to this site within the Introductions & Site Assistance forums, part of the Android Discussions category; Hi, I'm Jim, have had my Ally for a couple of months now. I'm happy with the phone for the most part. I have the ...

Thread: new to this site

Hi, I'm Jim, have had my Ally for a couple of months now. I'm happy with the phone for the most part. I have the same issues with battery life and app slowdowns at times that everyone else does, but ATK free helps.

My latest thing is though I have run out of space. I can't install any more apps, I have about 40 installed. I want to install apps to the SD card instead but it doesn't let you specify app location as far as I know. Perhaps I need to root the device to do that. I do have some familiarity with Linux although I wouldn't say that I am sysadmin level or anything. (I'm a Windows sysadmin...)

Also registered at androidforums.com

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

Quote Originally Posted by brons2 View Post
    Hi, I'm Jim, have had my Ally for a couple of months now. I'm happy with the phone for the most part. I have the same issues with battery life and app slowdowns at times that everyone else does, but ATK free helps.

My latest thing is though I have run out of space. I can't install any more apps, I have about 40 installed. I want to install apps to the SD card instead but it doesn't let you specify app location as far as I know. Perhaps I need to root the device to do that. I do have some familiarity with Linux although I wouldn't say that I am sysadmin level or anything. (I'm a Windows sysadmin...)

Also registered at androidforums.com

The ability to save apps to the SD card will be made available when we get upgraded to Android 2.2.
    Motorola Droid 4

Quote Originally Posted by Ally Android View Post
    The ability to save apps to the SD card will be made available when we get upgraded to Android 2.2.