Samsung S2 -Updated and Now Swipe Doesn't Work

This is a discussion on Samsung S2 -Updated and Now Swipe Doesn't Work within the Introductions & Site Assistance forums, part of the Android Discussions category; Originally Posted by splyons So i have been searching all over for an answer to this. My phone updated on its own like a lot ...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Samsung S2 -Updated and Now Swipe Doesn't Work

  1. #11
    Super Moderator/RS SLAG IT!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Somewhere on Kamino
    Posts
    2,814
    Thanked
    84 times
    Quote Originally Posted by splyons View Post
    So i have been searching all over for an answer to this. My phone updated on its own like a lot of yours and found out from the Sprint technical person at their store that the stored data in your swype app doesn't work with the new formatting so you have to delete the stored data.

    To do this:

    Settings>>Applications>>Swype (if you have a galaxy S2 you will probably have to select the "All" tab on the top of applications to be able to view "Swype"

    Click Disable
    Click Clear Data
    Click Enable

    You will now be able to select "Swype" as your default keyboard.

    Thank the guys at Sprint, I'm just a messenger! Hope it resolves all your problems =)
    This works and you don't need to factory reset.
    splyons likes this.

  2. #12
    Android Lurker cpstegall30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks to everyone! It did work! Yea:-}

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android.net

  3. #13
    Android Lurker splyons's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanked
    1 times

    Quote Originally Posted by cpstegall30 View Post
    Thanks to everyone! It did work! Yea:-}

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android.net

    Glad to help

  4. #14
    Android Lurker splyons's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by mschuzzer13 View Post
    Thank you for sharing this one. Im afraid to upgrade my phone unit because it might cause some issues with my phone as well.
    I had no problems except for the keyboard thing which the technician helped me fix...other than that it only made my phone better.

  5. #15
    Super Moderator/RS SLAG IT!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Somewhere on Kamino
    Posts
    2,814
    Thanked
    84 times
    There is also a problem with some of them and playing videos. There is some that have problem with reception or slow data.

  6. #16
    Android Lurker silvrsurfr637's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by splyons View Post
    So i have been searching all over for an answer to this. My phone updated on its own like a lot of yours and found out from the Sprint technical person at their store that the stored data in your swype app doesn't work with the new formatting so you have to delete the stored data.

    To do this:

    Settings>>Applications>>Swype (if you have a galaxy S2 you will probably have to select the "All" tab on the top of applications to be able to view "Swype"

    Click Disable
    Click Clear Data
    Click Enable

    You will now be able to select "Swype" as your default keyboard.

    Thank the guys at Sprint, I'm just a messenger! Hope it resolves all your problems =)
    hi. I;m new here and I just want all to know that I regret updating my s2 to ICS. i tried following your steps in re-activating the swype in the texting keypad but when i got to APPLICATIONS and found SWYPE, all the buttons are greyed out. I can't press any buttons because they are inactive or not working so I went to GOOGLE PLAY STORE and searched for a downloadable SWYPE application. There was SWYPE and then there was this TOUCHPAL KEYBOARD V5. I downloaded the TOUCHPAL and after installing it, a window appeared asking me which input to select

    Name:  DSC06958.jpg
Views: 331
Size:  96.9 KB
    i tried selecting the SWYPE option and went back to my inbox and tried to reply a message and it worked. SWYPE working again.
    deleting TOUCHPAL now.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Inbuilt Torch App Doesn't Work Consistently
    By s.tamanna in forum Samsung Galaxy Note
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-30-2012, 08:57 AM
  2. Why this cable doesn't work?
    By vaickiballs in forum Samsung Captivate Accessories
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-20-2011, 05:25 AM
  3. SIPDroid Doesn't work
    By Sattvic in forum Samsung Captivate Tech
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 12:11 PM
  4. Auto-refresh doesn't work?
    By JackTheKnife in forum Samsung Captivate Tech
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-31-2010, 07:46 PM

Search tags for this page

activating swype on samsung galaxy s2
,
galaxy s2 no swipe
,

galaxy s2 swype

,
how do i turn on swype on my galaxy s2
,

how to activate swype on galaxy s2

,
how to activate swype on samsung galaxy s2
,

how to get swype on galaxy s2

,

how to swipe text on galaxy s2

,

how to swipe text on samsung galaxy s2

,

samsung galaxy s2 swype

,

swipe not working on android

,
swipe not working on galaxy s2
,

turn on swype on galaxy s2

,
turn swype on galaxy s2
,
why cant i swipe text anymore samsung2
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum