Problem with Norton on My Lenovo Tablet

This is a discussion on Problem with Norton on My Lenovo Tablet within the Introductions & Site Assistance forums, part of the Android Discussions category; Hi, I am new to and this is my first post. I am also very new to Android OS and Tablets , but I ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By cali
  • 1 Post By UltraDroid

Thread: Problem with Norton on My Lenovo Tablet

Problem with Norton on My Lenovo Tablet

Hi, I am new to and this is my first post. I am also very new to Android OS and Tablets, but I am working with computers right from 1987 using DOS, Unix and Windows platforms.

Few weeks ago I bought a Lenovo IdeaTab A2109A which was launched very recently. It was preloaded with Norton Tablet Security with one months subscription free with monthly renewal option only. So near the end of the month I purchased a 1-year subscription from Norton website online, downloaded, installed and activated it. The subscription period showed 367 days left, probably because 2-days where still valid from the pre-installed one month subscription.

Trouble started when I tried to update the virus definitions next day. I got a prompt "There is a newer version available, upgrade?" I clicked on "YES" and Nortons Mobile Security for tablets downloaded. While installing, it asked permission to uninstall the last version installed, which I gave and it showed "Uninstall successful". Then it gave a message "Another installation of Nortns Tablet Security is found, need to uninstall it" as I clicked on "yes" and got a message "Un-install Unsuccessful!". The preinstalled "Norton Tablet Security" showed "Subscription expired" and Norton Mobile Security for Tablets showed "Free version" !!! The only option left for me was to uninstall it and re-install my purchased Norton Tablet Security" and re-activate with the Authorization Key, which I did.