Theme discussion on GDE and OpenHome

This is a discussion on Theme discussion on GDE and OpenHome within the Motorola Backflip Development & Hacking forums, part of the Motorola Backflip category; Originally Posted by batmania15 So openhome definitely seems to be a battery killer which is a shame because I have no problems with this app. ...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Theme discussion on GDE and OpenHome

  1. #11
    Android Addict marvin_attdroids's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    563
    Quote Originally Posted by batmania15 View Post
    So openhome definitely seems to be a battery killer which is a shame because I have no problems with this app. Question is has anyone figured out to change the option of when you hit the home button for it not to ask you to switch back to regular home?

    Anyone made any tweaks to get better battery life out of this?
    Setting Default Programs/Keyboards - forum thread

    Set Default Applications - with pictures

  2. #12
    Senior Member batmania15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    302
    Quote Originally Posted by marvin View Post
    Marvin, thanks for the help on the default. I don't know why I didn't figure that out on my own lol.

    So another questions is if i switch to open home then back to regular home is open Home still running in the background??

    If i force close openhome will this stop it from running in the background when i dont want to use it??

    Also has anyone figured out a way to keep the background image different for open home and regular home. Any change to the background in openhome changes it in home and vice versa?

    I have 9 lockerz invites if interested PM me.

  3. #13
    Android Addict marvin_attdroids's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    563
    Quote Originally Posted by batmania15 View Post
    So another questions is if i switch to open home then back to regular home is open Home still running in the background??

    If i force close openhome will this stop it from running in the background when i dont want to use it??
    I don't know if it will restart or not. Check it's status in the native manage applications or with an app like Advanced Task Killer or System panel.

    Quote Originally Posted by batmania15 View Post
    Also has anyone figured out a way to keep the background image different for open home and regular home. Any change to the background in openhome changes it in home and vice versa?
    I have not.

  4. #14
    Senior Member batmania15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    302
    So I downloaded advanced task killer. Open home was still running even though i wasn't using it.

    EDIT: OpenHome reopens itself as a couple min later showed up in task killer again. It only takes up 8mb of memory though. But with nothing else running in the background it's not causing an issue right now.


    There were also a bunch of 3rd party apps still running that i hadn't used in AWHILE. I put all the att bloat apps on the ignore list and only concentrated on the 3rd part apps.

    Now my phone is screaming fast like it used to be. Don't know how i was surviving without this app. Also I don't know why they didn't build in something into the OS to kill an app completely without a task killer because of it having multi tasking. Every app you THINK you close is still working in the background.

    I have 9 lockerz invites if interested PM me.

  5. #15
    Junior Member dracdrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    SE USA
    Posts
    5
    I installed the google voice search app (with the developer backdoor on the phone (look for installing non-market apps, full instructions are in this forum))

    And then I installed Open Home. On my middle screen a Google Search with the Mic icon was there, fully functional. I was a bit shocked since there is no named widget (in other words I couldn't make another one on a diffferent screen). However the small search shortcut on left of screen always brought up Yahoo Search and couldn't be changed.

    I have since removed Open Home and got my refund, it was a bit sluggish, and I ran into a bug where the phone wouldn't lock a few times. I am also an el-cheap-o and don't feel like spending $ on themes. The few Free ones weren't impressive there was no way to preview the paid ones.

    Add: An advanced task manager is a must, it will really help keeping your phones apps nice and tidy. I have been using Advanced Task Manager (Blue Icon, full, ad-free version only 99c)

  6. #16
    Senior Member Con5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Bronx NY
    Posts
    371
    Some questions about Open Home Full......this is my second time trying it so no refunds...I'm liking it and some of the skins are great.....I also downloaded BetterCut because I thought it would help with using the icon packs ....I found a pretty cool Icon Pack and when I use it in menu only some of the icons change to that icon pack.....yet when I open this icon pack I see lots of alternative icons but I can't figure out how to use them instead of the defaults.....that's what I thought BetterCut would do....any ideas?

  7. #17
    Senior Member jmgib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    1,350
    I have used BetterCut, but I suspect that in order to assign custom icons, you would need to use BetterCut to create a shortcut to the app you or task you are wanting and then I guess it would have an option to assign an icon to the shortcut. Again, this is just my assumptions, I haven't used BetterCut.

  8. #18
    Senior Member Con5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Bronx NY
    Posts
    371
    Cheers man, that worked.......I like Open Home but man it's laggy....it has a boat load of options and you can do all sorts of things with skins and icon packs.

    Went back to the stock home , just using a home switcher , hoping Open Home fixes some of it's kinks.

  9. #19
    Junior Member backflipGOTowned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    louisiana
    Posts
    2

    backflip on gde and open

    i have both gde and open home and i love them equally....gde tho is a little faster since i updated to 2.1 it seems to be faster than my friends 2.2 optimus......ive just recently was able to figure out how to install non market apps dont laugh im new to the droids my other phone was the iphone....

  10. #20
    Junior Member backflipGOTowned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    louisiana
    Posts
    2
    (this is to con5150) i got live home for that it works for all the icons on the home page and the menu

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

open home theme

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum