Frustration about Backflip Root

This is a discussion on Frustration about Backflip Root within the Motorola Backflip Development & Hacking forums, part of the Motorola Backflip category; I love my backflip. The hardware is awesome. The software, on the other hand, is a little frustrating. Now, I know that 2.1 is being ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Frustration about Backflip Root

Frustration about Backflip Root

I love my backflip. The hardware is awesome. The software, on the other hand, is a little frustrating. Now, I know that 2.1 is being released in Q3 of this year. Realize, however, that 2.1 will still be filtered by AT&T. I remember when this phone first came out, people were eager to root it. This was the only real solution to removing AT&Ts stranglehold over the device, and of course allow different variants of the Android OS to be installed on the phone. Now, however, it seems like this vigor has died down. I'm no expert, but I think that no matter how strictly locked down the OS is, a ROOT has to be possible. I just wish that there was a devoted android community for motorola devices other than the droid. Look at HTC's community as an example. ALL of their phones have root access (such as the G1, MyTouch, etc.). Yet, with the backflip, there is no solution. The efforts to root the device have stagnated substantially, with virtually no support from the developer community. I guess I'm just writing this to vent a little, as I bought an Android device to have this flexibility and ability to root. I'm not trying to rush or be hasty, but I have a feeling that this root will never come; if it does, then the custom firmware will most likely be bug-ridden and unstable. I really hope that there is still someone out there trying to root this otherwise great device.

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

You might want to go check out ModMyMoto.com.

I have 9 lockerz invites if interested PM me.