Stuff to do with our root access

This is a discussion on Stuff to do with our root access within the Motorola Backflip Development & Hacking forums, part of the Motorola Backflip category; Here's what I've found so far, I'm learning as I go. Used Titanium Backup to backup apps, and then to remove some of the bloatware ...

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 64

Thread: Stuff to do with our root access

  1. #1
    Member mcpweev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    53

    Stuff to do with our root access

    Here's what I've found so far, I'm learning as I go.

    Used Titanium Backup to backup apps, and then to remove some of the bloatware I thought would be safe. Stayed away from blur stuff, didn't know if it would be tied in too deep and cause problems. There's also some info on replacing the ATT music app with the stock app and other valuable info over here

    Used SetCPU to customize cpu speeds, set it to stay closer to top speed when awake, and a lower max speed for when it's asleep/in standby. Using the cliq settings on that one. Thanks to daddyroot's post in the Cliq forum over at modmymobile for giving me the head's up on this one.

    Everyone new to having a rooted android share so we can all learn faster!

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Senior Member jmgib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    1,350
    Yeah, I would definitely leave the Blur stuff alone. I was busy last night (wife is assistant dean at the local college and we were "blessed" to chaperone a dance last night, meh) so I haven't had a chance to try the modified version of the rooting method, but I couldn't get the initial version to work yesterday.
    Avatar courtesy of Elliott C. 'Eeyore' Evans

  4. #3
    Member mcpweev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    53
    FYI:
    SetCPU is paid on the market, but the developer is kind enough to offer it free over at xda developers.
    He just asks that it doesn't get included in roms.

  5. #4
    Junior Member Dbagjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    24
    Just want to reiterate what mcpweev said about the blur stuff. DON'T mess with it! Blur is tied into our OS to deeply to just uninstall the different parts.

    Take it from me (I screwed up mine, though it does still work) - Mess with the safe stuff, but leave Blur alone... for now.

  6. #5
    Junior Member benzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    26
    With root, I was able to turn on non-market apps (I think, still testing...) by following this guide for the Captivate:

    How To: Remove (Almost) Every Trace of AT&T - Android Forums

    (Under "Enable App Sideloading")

    Just do exactly what it says there, except you need to change the path in each step to the correct one for for the Backflip:

    /data/data/com.motorola.providers.settings/databases/settings.db

    Also note that in step 18, the install_non_market_apps value is actually ID 17, not 6.

  7. #6
    Senior Member iTylerA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Riverdale, GA
    Posts
    188
    Also, when installng SetCPU, be sure to get 2.0.1. anything later than that has no 1.5 support

  8. #7
    Senior Member tae_254's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    390
    Has anyone tried installing Google search. I have the apk which I backed up from my phone if anyone needs it..

    Sent from my 1 of my Android phones using Tapatalk

  9. #8
    Junior Member Dbagjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    24
    On enabling non-market apps, my phone says that the file doesn't exist (/dbdata/databases/com.android.providers.settings/settings.db). Did I miss something here?

  10. #9
    Senior Member iTylerA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Riverdale, GA
    Posts
    188
    Quote Originally Posted by Dbagjones View Post
    On enabling non-market apps, my phone says that the file doesn't exist (/dbdata/databases/com.android.providers.settings/settings.db). Did I miss something here?
    use the filepath in this post:

    Quote Originally Posted by benzilla View Post
    With root, I was able to turn on non-market apps (I think, still testing...) by following this guide for the Captivate:

    How To: Remove (Almost) Every Trace of AT&T - Android Forums

    (Under "Enable App Sideloading")

    Just do exactly what it says there, except you need to change the path in each step to the correct one for for the Backflip:

    /data/data/com.motorola.providers.settings/databases/settings.db

    Also note that in step 18, the install_non_market_apps value is actually ID 17, not 6.

  11. #10
    Junior Member Dbagjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    24
    Sonofa.. sorry man... I read the post too. Obviously my comprehension was non-existent. *hangs head in shame*

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

android what to do with root access
,
awesome root stuff
,
backflip com motorola providers settings databases
,
cool root stuff
,
cool stuff to do on android
,
fun things to do with root access
,
info iphoneforum ro loc:us
,
setcpu
,
settings.db android
,
things to do with root access
,
what to do to with root access
,
what to do with android root acces
,

what to do with root access

,
what to do with root access gingerbread
,
what to do with rooted captivate
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum