Installing busybox

This is a discussion on Installing busybox within the Motorola Backflip Development & Hacking forums, part of the Motorola Backflip category; When I posted the alternate rooting process I underestimated the importance busybox might have in further modding and how it makes lots of stuff so ...

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Installing busybox

  1. #1
    Android Jr Member amingv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    82

    Installing busybox

    When I posted the alternate rooting process I underestimated the importance busybox might have in further modding and how it makes lots of stuff so much easier. Since I have only myself to blame for that, the least I can do is telling you how to install it.
    In this post I assume you have rooted using either method.

    First, get busybox here: busybox.zip
    It's the same file that is in the original rooting method, so you can get the file there, too.

    Push the file to your sd card:
    Code:
    adb push /home/amin/Desktop/busybox /sdcard/busybox
    Then open an adb shell and type "su" to get root access. Notice that once you run su you may need to hit allow on your phone screen for the superuser.apk request.
    Once you get to the root shell (with the # prompt), copy and paste these commands, one line at a time:

    Code:
    mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock1 /system
    cat /sdcard/busybox > /system/bin/busybox     
    chown root.root /system/bin/busybox     
    chmod 755 /system/bin/busybox     
    mount -o ro,remount /dev/block/mtdblock1 /system
    Busybox is now installed. You can close the terminal.

    Again, sorry for skipping this. I'm still learning, too.

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Member nappent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    50
    I might be wrong but if your download Titanium Backup it will install the BusyBox for you. Might be a easier option.

  4. #3
    Member jdsatyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    36
    titanium backup did infact reinstall my busybox directly from the app

  5. #4
    Android Jr Member amingv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    82
    I suppose that's good, too

  6. #5
    Senior Member iTylerA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Riverdale, GA
    Posts
    188
    There's a BusyBox Installer in the Market. Free. Works Perfectly.

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. HTC Evo Shift Review and Hands On
    By danDroid in forum HTC EVO Shift
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2011, 07:31 PM

Search tags for this page

busybox for captivate
,

busybox problem

,
busybox problem fix
,

busybox problem fix it

,
busybox sdcard
,

fix busybox problem

,
how do i download busybox to sd card
,

how to fix busybox problem

,
how to install busybox
,
importance of busybox
,
install busybox
,
install busybox to sd card
,
install busybox without sd card
,
you have a busybox problem
,

you have busybox problem fix it

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum