Should I root my Backflip?

This is a discussion on Should I root my Backflip? within the Motorola Backflip Development & Hacking forums, part of the Motorola Backflip category; Ridiculous question, I know. Why shouldn't I root it? Well, here's the thing: I am a rooting n00b and this is the only phone I've ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I root my Backflip?

Should I root my Backflip?

Ridiculous question, I know. Why shouldn't I root it? Well, here's the thing: I am a rooting n00b and this is the only phone I've got. If I screw something up, that's it. I have zero experience with rooting phones. The extent of my knowledge has been gained from reading this forum and the stuff on Mod My Mobile that you guys have linked to. I would have no qualms about experimenting if I had a backup phone, but since this would be my first time ever trying this kind of stuff and I can't afford another phone, I'm a bit nervous. So I'm looking for a little encouragement (or DIScouragement if you think the situation calls for it).

Is rooting worth it for someone like me? Pretty much all I would do is remove the AT&T apps (and maybe get a custom ROM if someone makes one).

Those of you who are experienced modders/rooters, did you ever regret messing around with your phone (for any reason, not just accidental bricking)?

Also, what are the chances of someone making one of those 1-click style rooting apps? Is it even possible for the Backflip?

I know you're all busily hacking away at your phone, but I appreciate any advice you can offer.

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .