Spontaneous Reboots

This is a discussion on Spontaneous Reboots within the Motorola Backflip forums, part of the Motorola Android Phones category; This might sound like "Woo Woo", "Twilight Zone" stuff, but please bear with me as this is a real problem. Though I'm no engineer, I'm ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spontaneous Reboots

Spontaneous Reboots

This might sound like "Woo Woo", "Twilight Zone" stuff, but please bear with me as this is a real problem. Though I'm no engineer, I'm also no novice with smart phones or technology in general.

I bought two Backflips in March, one for myself and my wife. My wife's phone almost immediately began spontaneously rebooting multiple times a day whenever she handled it. I've noticed on the Motoblur forum that others have this problem with the camera/video function. My wife would not be using any particular app or function, it would just reboot, most often when just sending or checking a text message, email or simply looking up contacts. My phone, OTOH, is fine. As an experiment, I switched phones with her, factory reseting it and switching sim cards. The problem is still happening with MY phone, now in HER hands.

For what it's worth, my wife operates a recording studio and has been told by engineers not to touch sensitive electronic equipment as her electro-magnetic energy has been proven to cause issues. I never actually bought into that but now I'm not so sure. She previously had cheap non-smartphones which never had issues. Returning the phone is an iffy option (its still under warranty) as I suspect any replacement will have the same effect. Any ideas?

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

Android Addict marvin_attdroids's Avatar
    deleted by author

Good question. She's out of town for the next few days with the phone. When she returns I'll switch SIM cards and see.

deleted by author