[GUIDE] Milestone XT720 - Apps2SD and Froyo JIT

This is a discussion on [GUIDE] Milestone XT720 - Apps2SD and Froyo JIT within the Motorola XT720 forums, part of the Motorola Android Phones category; Use the 2nd version for euro roms. Its posted somewhere by the OP. maybe that would work....

Page 6 of 41 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 405

Thread: [GUIDE] Milestone XT720 - Apps2SD and Froyo JIT

  1. #51
    Android Addict DF Member's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    634
    Use the 2nd version for euro roms. Its posted somewhere by the OP. maybe that would work.

  2. #52
    Android Addict DF Member's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    634
    So, here's the "verdict" for me.
    I reformatted my SD card with ext3, and a small swap just in case..

    JIT on the Euro signed firmware works.
    Theme does NOT work.
    Apps2SD does NOT work, AND CAUSES PHONE TO NOT BOOT.
    I had this thing working for a few weeks, I know what to do etc.

    However, the euro firmware (compared to french expansys) is AWESOME
    Even without JIT it's faster, and HD VIDEO FINALLY WORKS!
    With JIT it's blazing fast.

    As a bonus, the headphone output is absolutely deafening, used to be very very soft on max, French legislation most likely.

    Halleluja ;P

  3. #53
    Android Addict DF Member's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    634
    why apps2sd is not working for you? some apps required a few fraction of internal space. i've installed like almost 20apps and it still stands at 100+mb. not all apps can be moved to sdcard. not sure, i could be wrong that your apps2sd really not working. i'm on euro rom and still using the 1st version of the script but i did not install the nextheme. i will try the 2nd version soon, this time including the theme installation.

    Edit:
    Okay i did a quick installation for the ver.2 of the theme frm the script. Messaging works so far but now theres another problem, market. I got an error message saying server error or something. My data connection is fine. I can surf, play online but not market. So, whats the problem now?

  4. #54
    Android Addict DF Member's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    634
    Quote Originally Posted by progenx View Post
    why apps2sd is not working for you? some apps required a few fraction of internal space. i've installed like almost 20apps and it still stands at 100+mb. not all apps can be moved to sdcard. not sure, i could be wrong that your apps2sd really not working. i'm on euro rom and still using the 1st version of the script but i did not install the nextheme. i will try the 2nd version soon, this time including the theme installation.

    Edit:
    Okay i did a quick installation for the ver.2 of the theme frm the script. Messaging works so far but now theres another problem, market. I got an error message saying server error or something. My data connection is fine. I can surf, play online but not market. So, whats the problem now?
    You have firmware str_u2_01.1e.0 and the script worked?

    I've tried both scripts and both used his build.prop and my own modified version, still didn't boot after the apps2sd script. I waited half an hour after each time, only get the sphere-m symbol, and then it reboots after a while going in a loop.. :S

  5. #55
    Android Addict DF Member's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    634
    Not sure. Im waiting for navalynt for some answers too. Mine worked well so far..

  6. #56
    Android Addict DF Member's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    634
    Apps2sd worked for me finally, but i noticed a problem.
    I realised that the apps have been copied to the SD card, but i also noticed that the memory space on my internal memory have not been emptied!
    I believe that the apps now exists in both the internal memory and sd card.
    Is there anyway to clear the apps off the internal memory while keeping the apps on the sd card?

  7. #57
    Android Addict DF Member's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    634

    Important about A2SD

    I think I should share this little bit of info on Apps2SD.

    I had some issues with occasional reboots on the French "Expansys" firmware, and I just assumed this was more or less normal, 2-3 times a week so I didn't bother about it much.

    However, I read several forum posts last night stating that using A2SD on a card rated Lower than "Class 6" may cause random lockups and reboots, the OS expects faster response probably.

    The card that comes with the, at least the expansys phone, is a Slow Class 2. (never above 2mb/s when benching through PC or Android.

    My current microSD is a Class 2 from Sandisk that scores 4-5MB/s most of the time, but "dips" to 2mb/s often.

    At the moment I've had no reboots without A2SD and the Euro firmware.

  8. #58
    Android Addict DF Member's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    634
    Mine class 4

  9. #59
    Android Addict DF Member's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    634
    I just followed the directions on my Singapore XT720 and everything went well :-)

    However, what I did not realize was that I can no longer switch SD cards without the phone being stuck on boot with the "M". I had used a smaller 2GB SD card to do the install since I wanted to keep the original 8GB SD, just in case.

    Now I'm stuck using the 2GB SD. Is there a way for me to remove the changes and start over with the 8GB?

    Thanks.

    Alex

  10. #60
    Android Addict DF Member's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    634
    This is the XT720 configuration that seems the best in my personal tests:
    - ROM "europe" STR_U2_01.1E.0
    - JIT froyo (perfect guide in page 1 - thank you!)
    - multitouch Droid X keyboard (it's really amazing, it's fast and feels even better than iPhone 3G!)

    I did not install:
    - NO apps2sd - it moves all apps and cache to sd. You need a very high speed sd, if not you will loose performances. It would be very useful if you could choose what to install in sd and what in internal memory
    - NO overclock (with 720MHz rom and JIT froyo it's not needed any more IMHO)

    If only I could reach evening with my battery this would be the perfect phone for me...

Page 6 of 41 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

cincinnati bell sbf stock rom

,

cincinnati bell sbf stock rom download

,
cincinnati bell sbf stock rom free download
,
cincinnati+bell+sbf+stock+rom download
,
download cincinnati bell sbf stock rom
,

enable swap xt720

,
https://rsddownload.motorola.com/dow...wp3 1ff.sbf.gz
,
motorola milestone xt720 sbf
,
motorola xt720 froyo sbf
,
motorola xt720 how to save my stuff to sd card
,
motorola xt720 stuck on logo
,

pm201df

,
str u2 01.1e.0 signed ucashlstabb1b4dema039.0r uca shotbrtlrtcee p001 a008 hwp3 1ff.sbf
,
str u2 02.1e.0
,
xt720 stock rom download
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum