Any sms remote data traffic app?

This is a discussion on Any sms remote data traffic app? within the Nexus One Application Discussion forums, part of the Nexus One category; Hi guys, anyone knows an app that would turn on and off data traffic (2G,3G,GPRS) remotely, with a command through sms (text) message? An app ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Any sms remote data traffic app?

  1. #1
    Junior Member Mihailo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    23

    Any sms remote data traffic app?

    Hi guys,

    anyone knows an app that would turn on and off data traffic (2G,3G,GPRS) remotely, with a command through sms (text) message?

    An app like that would be really cool.

    Cheers!

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Senior Member kc.rkitek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    291
    I think this will do something like that...at least it looks like you can put it in airplane mode remotely:
    SMS Commander v1.22 -- Seize Command of your phone!

  4. #3
    Junior Member Mihailo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by kc.rkitek View Post
    I think this will do something like that...at least it looks like you can put it in airplane mode remotely:
    SMS Commander v1.22 -- Seize Command of your phone!
    Yes it would, but 'airplane mode' disables wifi, not data (2G/3G), + it doesn't seem posible to put it back on. I need something that would toggle data on/off through sms.

    Thanks

  5. #4
    Senior Member jaeisber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    718
    Quote Originally Posted by Mihailo View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by kc.rkitek View Post
    I think this will do something like that...at least it looks like you can put it in airplane mode remotely:
    SMS Commander v1.22 -- Seize Command of your phone!
    Yes it would, but 'airplane mode' disables wifi, not data (2G/3G), + it doesn't seem posible to put it back on. I need something that would toggle data on/off through sms.

    Thanks
    Im curious as to why...? Why not just turn it off manually or just use a widget?
    Bought the AT&T N1.

  6. #5
    Junior Member Mihailo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by jaeisber View Post
    Im curious as to why...? Why not just turn it off manually or just use a widget?
    I am keeping it off using a widget, and there lies the problem.

    In case it gets stolen, location recovery apps (WaveSecure,Instamapper,Lookout) need wifi/data traffic to be able to send location. My data is off by default (cause phone eats my phone credit big time when it's not), and since the phone would be locked, wifi wouldn't connect to open networks automatically, so I'd stay without exact location, unless the thief connects the phone to a wifi network, which he probably wouldn't do in the right state of mind.

    there you go.

  7. #6
    Senior Member jaeisber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    718
    Ah ok...I thought those programs had the ability to turn on services like that. I could be wrong though, I havent played with them enough to know.
    Bought the AT&T N1.

  8. #7
    Junior Member Mihailo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by jaeisber View Post
    Ah ok...I thought those programs had the ability to turn on services like that. I could be wrong though, I havent played with them enough to know.
    Nope, they don't. It's probably cause the developers didn't think that somebody would disable data traffic, it's on by default, and I guess it's not the big issue keeping it on if you have a good data plan from your service provider, which I don't, so...

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Sync Issue??
    By G2 Forum User in forum HTC G2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-25-2010, 02:15 PM

Search tags for this page

remote data on off via sms

,

remotely turn on data trafic android

,

turn on data traffic via sms on android

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum