Noob needs help

This is a discussion on Noob needs help within the Nexus One Development & Hacking forums, part of the Nexus One category; Hi everyone i'm new to all of this mobile phone stuff, I just purchased a used nexus one that I did not know was rooted ...

Thread: Noob needs help

Noob needs help

Hi everyone i'm new to all of this mobile phone stuff, I just purchased a used nexus one that I did not know was rooted and the phone is stuck in edge only. I have called tmobile and htc tech support to trouble shoot, did everything normal like hard reset, force 3g but still no resolution. Can someone guide me to get my N1 to pick up 3g?
    Thanks

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

I'll try to help, but if you don't know anything about unlocking/rooting/flashing, this make take some effort. First, are you certain that you are in an area that has good 3G coverage? I'm going to assume you are...

Let's see...you could try to flash the radio/ROM to a newer version, but that depends on what you've got on there now. If the phone was already rooted, chances are it already has a custom ROM & radio flashed to it already...maybe older versions that have known issues. Let's start with that...we need to know where you're starting from to guess where you should go from here...

What are the current specs of your device? go to Settings > About phone and list what you see for the following items:

Baseband version?
    Kernel version?
    Mod version?
    Build number?

First off, thank you for being willing to help. The following is what it has:

model number : nexus one
    baseband: 32.26.00.24u_4.04.00.03.2
    kernel version: 2.6.29-01117-g4bc62c2 android-build@apa26#1
    build number: epe54b

Quote Originally Posted by pwta View Post
    First off, thank you for being willing to help. The following is what it has:

model number : nexus one
    baseband: 32.26.00.24u_4.04.00.03.2