What do you lose with custom ROMs?

This is a discussion on What do you lose with custom ROMs? within the Nexus One Development & Hacking forums, part of the Nexus One category; I'm new to the custom ROM scene and trying to figure out if it's something I want to do or not. I've looked around, but ...

Thread: What do you lose with custom ROMs?

What do you lose with custom ROMs?

I'm new to the custom ROM scene and trying to figure out if it's something I want to do or not. I've looked around, but don't see it specifically addressed.

I personally enjoy the Android 2.1 UI, and wonder what is given up by going to Cyanogen or MoDaCo.

I may just root only in order to get WiFi tethering.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

Mitchel

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

Think of it in reversal....

I've been running Cyanogen's ROM's for months now, currently running 5.0.5.3, if I had to go back to the stock ROM I'd seriously be thinking of selling it. To me it would be just another high end smartphone albeit a rather awesome one. I am a tinkerer and like to mess with my phone on a weekly basis. This N1 seems future proof for the moment as there's always something new to try on this phone making it better and better.... (thanks to most of the devs @xda)

Going stock would mean losing about 10 features right off the bat that's in a custom ROM that I now couldn't live without... Colored trackball notifications(great for silent mode as you'll never miss anything with the bright colors pulsing away), double click trackball to unlock screen (i hate having to press the power button and then swype to unlock), Morphs, adding screens to home page, customizing the launcher buttons, wireless & usb tethering, N1 Torch, Setcpu(awesome for battery life), etc, etc... Above all, having Amon's recovery and being able to make system state back ups is simply essential