Still don't understand rooting

This is a discussion on Still don't understand rooting within the Nexus One Development & Hacking forums, part of the Nexus One category; I want to root but I'm not very tech savvy and from what I understand it is easy to make mistakes and damage your Nexus ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Still don't understand rooting

Still don't understand rooting

I want to root but I'm not very tech savvy and from what I understand it is easy to make mistakes and damage your Nexus One during and after a root. If I root it will I still get OTA updates from google like normally? (not going to manually get FroYo). I really don't want to make mistakes because its an expensive device and I don't even understand what a kernel is. When I root do I have to get a modification like Cyanogen? (what exactly is Cyanogen) or will I still get the benefits (720p video, and whatever else) without those because I really don't want to apply a skin like HTC Sense to my device. Anything else like basics would be helpful. But try not to dumb it down too much, I would rather learn this stuff than just follow guides cluelessly. Thanks in advance.

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .