Updating to RC3

This is a discussion on Updating to RC3 within the Nexus One Development & Hacking forums, part of the Nexus One category; Okay. So since, this if my first time with a installed rom, I don't know the whole process of updating. I'm currently on Cyanogen RC2. ...

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54

Thread: Updating to RC3

  1. #1
    Senior Member Syntax323's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    230

    Updating to RC3

    Okay. So since, this if my first time with a installed rom, I don't know the whole process of updating.

    I'm currently on Cyanogen RC2. Used Rom Manager to install and all that fun stuff.

    So, since the first part is done, when I update to RC3 do I have to reinstall all apps again, and do all that crap again?

    What's the process to update via rom manager?

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Senior Member Sheanzy_nexusone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    548
    Backup with Titanium Backup. It will backup all of your APPS+Data. Most of my apps re-install themselves when I install a new ROM. Switching from RC2 to RC3, you don't need to wipe. It just carries everything over and all my settings were as is.

    My applications were in proper place but my widgets needed re-added. Just go to ROM manager>Download ROM>Cyanogen>Download RC3. Check mark the GAPPS and don't wipe.

    Let me know how it goes.


    --> Ne:nexusx:uS One ROOTED

    --> ...a Gingerbread ROM




    - Our handicapped puppy -

    *Follow me on Twitter



    EASY ROOT + CUSTOM KERNEL FLASHING INSTRUCTIONS ----> HERE

  4. #3
    Android Master rugmankc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,955
    Rom Manager is an interface between ClockworkMod Recovery and any alternate recovery you may use with it. The choice that says Flash Alternate Recovery lets you bounce between two recoveries. I have AmonRa Recovery also. Been using that before I tested CWMod. You need CWMod to use most of RomMgr's features. RomMgr just does some things automatically as opposed to manual recoveries. But if you use Amon you can select multiple items from the sd card to flash like the Rom you want and google addons (gapps). Haven't found a way to do that in CWMod. I have to install the Rom, open RomMgr and then install gapps from the Rom's dl manager. With Amon you have to be more careful on how you name your files to be installed.

    You need to get Titanium BackUp from the Market and do backups with it and learn how to use it. When you install TB, select Problems and install busybox. Or if it promts you during install say ok. I would buy the paid, full features and supports the dev. It is the best for rooted phones.

    My procedure is do a TB backup of all apps and system data by selecting backup and restore and batch. Then I do a backup of my current rom through whichever recovery I am using. Then wipe data and cache. Dl rom and gapps however that needs done per my comments above.

    When the phone boots up I should have Market if gapps loaded. Reinstall TB from there, the free version. If you bought the paid one after installing the free it will update to paid when you run it. Do busybox again. Then do a restore all apps and data thru the batch menu like above.

    After that, reboot and run LauncherPro it will restore all homescreens.

    Then I do my google acounts. You can do them anytime you want. I prefer to have wifi enabled first for the speed advantage, if you have that. You can do wifi and google accounts first if you want.
    Phones Owned: Nokia 6200; Nokia 6126 2ea; BB 8700g; BB 8900; MyTouch 4G; Nexus One: HTC One S; Carrier-TMobile

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]


    San Francisco Giants

  5. #4
    Senior Member Syntax323's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by rugmankc View Post
    Rom Manager is an interface between ClockworkMod Recovery and any alternate recovery you may use with it. The choice that says Flash Alternate Recovery lets you bounce between two recoveries. I have AmonRa Recovery also. Been using that before I tested CWMod. You need CWMod to use most of RomMgr's features. RomMgr just does some things automatically as opposed to manual recoveries. But if you use Amon you can select multiple items from the sd card to flash like the Rom you want and google addons (gapps). Haven't found a way to do that in CWMod. I have to install the Rom, open RomMgr and then install gapps from the Rom's dl manager. With Amon you have to be more careful on how you name your files to be installed.

    You need to get Titanium BackUp from the Market and do backups with it and learn how to use it. When you install TB, select Problems and install busybox. Or if it promts you during install say ok. I would buy the paid, full features and supports the dev. It is the best for rooted phones.

    My procedure is do a TB backup of all apps and system data by selecting backup and restore and batch. Then I do a backup of my current rom through whichever recovery I am using. Then wipe data and cache. Dl rom and gapps however that needs done per my comments above.

    When the phone boots up I should have Market if gapps loaded. Reinstall TB from there, the free version. If you bought the paid one after installing the free it will update to paid when you run it. Do busybox again. Then do a restore all apps and data thru the batch menu like above.

    After that, reboot and run LauncherPro it will restore all homescreens.

    Then I do my google acounts. You can do them anytime you want. I prefer to have wifi enabled first for the speed advantage, if you have that. You can do wifi and google accounts first if you want.
    Great informative post. Thank you. Though, I already have CmRC2 flashed on, you said you wipe data. If i'm going from RC2 to RC3, it's basically just a system update, so I don't need to wipe again, per Sheanzy.

    I'll do the backup of the rom, apps, and data, than just flash rc3 and the new gapps, and should be good to go without wiping, correct?

  6. #5
    Android Master rugmankc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,955
    Quote Originally Posted by Syntax323 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by rugmankc View Post
    Rom Manager is an interface between ClockworkMod Recovery and any alternate recovery you may use with it. The choice that says Flash Alternate Recovery lets you bounce between two recoveries. I have AmonRa Recovery also. Been using that before I tested CWMod. You need CWMod to use most of RomMgr's features. RomMgr just does some things automatically as opposed to manual recoveries. But if you use Amon you can select multiple items from the sd card to flash like the Rom you want and google addons (gapps). Haven't found a way to do that in CWMod. I have to install the Rom, open RomMgr and then install gapps from the Rom's dl manager. With Amon you have to be more careful on how you name your files to be installed.

    You need to get Titanium BackUp from the Market and do backups with it and learn how to use it. When you install TB, select Problems and install busybox. Or if it promts you during install say ok. I would buy the paid, full features and supports the dev. It is the best for rooted phones.

    My procedure is do a TB backup of all apps and system data by selecting backup and restore and batch. Then I do a backup of my current rom through whichever recovery I am using. Then wipe data and cache. Dl rom and gapps however that needs done per my comments above.

    When the phone boots up I should have Market if gapps loaded. Reinstall TB from there, the free version. If you bought the paid one after installing the free it will update to paid when you run it. Do busybox again. Then do a restore all apps and data thru the batch menu like above.

    After that, reboot and run LauncherPro it will restore all homescreens.

    Then I do my google acounts. You can do them anytime you want. I prefer to have wifi enabled first for the speed advantage, if you have that. You can do wifi and google accounts first if you want.
    Great informative post. Thank you. Though, I already have CmRC2 flashed on, you said you wipe data. If i'm going from RC2 to RC3, it's basically just a system update, so I don't need to wipe again, per Sheanzy.

    I'll do the backup of the rom, apps, and data, than just flash rc3 and the new gapps, and should be good to go without wiping, correct?


    If you never flashed any of the nightlies I would wipe, better safe than sorry, it only takes two minutes. Remember, there were many nightlies between RC2 and RC3, lots of changes.
    Phones Owned: Nokia 6200; Nokia 6126 2ea; BB 8700g; BB 8900; MyTouch 4G; Nexus One: HTC One S; Carrier-TMobile

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]


    San Francisco Giants

  7. #6
    Senior Member Syntax323's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by rugmankc View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Syntax323 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by rugmankc View Post
    Rom Manager is an interface between ClockworkMod Recovery and any alternate recovery you may use with it. The choice that says Flash Alternate Recovery lets you bounce between two recoveries. I have AmonRa Recovery also. Been using that before I tested CWMod. You need CWMod to use most of RomMgr's features. RomMgr just does some things automatically as opposed to manual recoveries. But if you use Amon you can select multiple items from the sd card to flash like the Rom you want and google addons (gapps). Haven't found a way to do that in CWMod. I have to install the Rom, open RomMgr and then install gapps from the Rom's dl manager. With Amon you have to be more careful on how you name your files to be installed.

    You need to get Titanium BackUp from the Market and do backups with it and learn how to use it. When you install TB, select Problems and install busybox. Or if it promts you during install say ok. I would buy the paid, full features and supports the dev. It is the best for rooted phones.

    My procedure is do a TB backup of all apps and system data by selecting backup and restore and batch. Then I do a backup of my current rom through whichever recovery I am using. Then wipe data and cache. Dl rom and gapps however that needs done per my comments above.

    When the phone boots up I should have Market if gapps loaded. Reinstall TB from there, the free version. If you bought the paid one after installing the free it will update to paid when you run it. Do busybox again. Then do a restore all apps and data thru the batch menu like above.

    After that, reboot and run LauncherPro it will restore all homescreens.

    Then I do my google acounts. You can do them anytime you want. I prefer to have wifi enabled first for the speed advantage, if you have that. You can do wifi and google accounts first if you want.
    Great informative post. Thank you. Though, I already have CmRC2 flashed on, you said you wipe data. If i'm going from RC2 to RC3, it's basically just a system update, so I don't need to wipe again, per Sheanzy.

    I'll do the backup of the rom, apps, and data, than just flash rc3 and the new gapps, and should be good to go without wiping, correct?


    If you never flashed any of the nightlies I would wipe, better safe than sorry, it only takes two minutes. Remember, there were many nightlies between RC2 and RC3, lots of changes.
    What could happen by not wiping? If it's doing system files, shouldn't affect apps or the way things are. I just hate wiping, takes forever to restore everything the way it was.

  8. #7
    Android Master rugmankc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,955
    I am not IT experienced, but you could have FC's, apps not working etc. If you do it the way I do it, only takes seconds to get everything back.

    You may or may not have issues, I don't chance it.
    Phones Owned: Nokia 6200; Nokia 6126 2ea; BB 8700g; BB 8900; MyTouch 4G; Nexus One: HTC One S; Carrier-TMobile

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]


    San Francisco Giants

  9. #8
    Android Lurker Mightytalldude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    0
    RC3 is great! Lots of good stuff. Only thing I found was a slight glitch with Swype not staying selected if I do a reboot or restart.:nexusx:

  10. #9
    Senior Member Sheanzy_nexusone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    548
    What could happen by not wiping? If it's doing system files, shouldn't affect apps or the way things are. I just hate wiping, takes forever to restore everything the way it was.
    As rugmankc said, you could get FC's. I was on CM RC2 and Flashed to a Nightly without wiping. I then restored CM RC2 and when RC3 came out, I flashed to RC3 without wiping.

    I haven't had any FC's or issues. It runs as it should and runs as it is expected. I never found it necessary to wipe, especially switching from RC2-RC3.

    As rugmankc said, I'm no IT professional either. I'm just giving you information and letting you know the experience I had with the way I rooted/flashed =).

    Hope it helps. BTW, It won't hurt to wipe.


    --> Ne:nexusx:uS One ROOTED

    --> ...a Gingerbread ROM




    - Our handicapped puppy -

    *Follow me on Twitter



    EASY ROOT + CUSTOM KERNEL FLASHING INSTRUCTIONS ----> HERE

  11. #10
    Senior Member nexgoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    259
    Quote Originally Posted by mightytalldude View Post
    RC3 is great! Lots of good stuff. Only thing I found was a slight glitch with Swype not staying selected if I do a reboot or restart.:nexusx:

    i'm RC3 right now but cant install swype thru swype installer...it says something about screen size??

    tia
    Other phones will make fun of your virgin phone. Then your virgin phone will feel ugly and fat. It will have self esteem issues and start to hang around iPhones. Then it will end up in a dark drawer next to a dirty iPod and a whole lot of regrets. Is this want you want WERA!!
    For the love of God and your Nexus One. Root it!!!:rofl3::rofl3::rofl3:

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Android Forum