Wildmonks kernel

This is a discussion on Wildmonks kernel within the Nexus One Development & Hacking forums, part of the Nexus One category; Okay, so I am loving cyanogens cm6 Rom, it is indeed full of awesomeness! but I also wanted 720p recording so I flashed the wildmonks ...

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Wildmonks kernel

  1. #1
    Android Lurker Floogle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4

    Wildmonks kernel

    Okay, so I am loving cyanogens cm6 Rom, it is indeed full of awesomeness! but I also wanted 720p recording so I flashed the wildmonks kernel.

    The flash went ok, but I noticed it said you can set the CPU and overclock it. Do I have to dl setcpu to do this? I can't see any option that's different since I flashed the kernel.

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Super Moderator sliceburgslim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanked
    14 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Floogle View Post
    Okay, so I am loving cyanogens cm6 Rom, it is indeed full of awesomeness! but I also wanted 720p recording so I flashed the wildmonks kernel.

    The flash went ok, but I noticed it said you can set the CPU and overclock it. Do I have to dl setcpu to do this? I can't see any option that's different since I flashed the kernel.
    Yes you need to get SetCpu in order to OC. They go hand in hand
    [PHONE] Nexus 4

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    [TABLET] Nexus 7

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

  4. #3
    Android Master rugmankc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,955
    AND,

    Do Not go over 1190.


    I and someone else hear, like dummies, decided to try the max and phone froze. Took several battery pulls to get it back to working condition.


    I am at 1152 running great.
    Phones Owned: Nokia 6200; Nokia 6126 2ea; BB 8700g; BB 8900; MyTouch 4G; Nexus One: HTC One S; Carrier-TMobile

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]


    San Francisco Giants

  5. #4
    Android Lurker Floogle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by rugmankc View Post
    AND,

    Do Not go over 1190.


    I and someone else hear, like dummies, decided to try the max and phone froze. Took several battery pulls to get it back to working condition.


    I am at 1152 running great.
    LOL! thanks for the tip guys, downloading setcpu now...

  6. #5
    Senior Member Sheanzy_nexusone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    548
    Quote Originally Posted by Floogle View Post
    Okay, so I am loving cyanogens cm6 Rom, it is indeed full of awesomeness! but I also wanted 720p recording so I flashed the wildmonks kernel.

    The flash went ok, but I noticed it said you can set the CPU and overclock it. Do I have to dl setcpu to do this? I can't see any option that's different since I flashed the kernel.
    RC3 comes with 720p. You don't need WildMonks Kernel to shoot 720p.


    --> Ne:nexusx:uS One ROOTED

    --> ...a Gingerbread ROM




    - Our handicapped puppy -

    *Follow me on Twitter



    EASY ROOT + CUSTOM KERNEL FLASHING INSTRUCTIONS ----> HERE

  7. #6
    Android Lurker Floogle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thxs sheanzy, didn't know that. As I haven't used setcpu before flashing wildmonks kernel, what is the advantage then of wildmonks? if you didn't have that, would it not let you set CPU that high?

  8. #7
    Senior Member Sheanzy_nexusone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    548
    The advantage is that you can OverClock your CPU higher than that of the Kernel that comes with CM6. You can OC it above 1113MHz. I've done several video tests with CM6's Kernel and shot at 21-22FPS.

    I flashed WildMonks and OC'd it to 1152MHz and shot at 24-26 FPS. It is also snappier in application performance and screen animations/switching. This is obvious because you're running at a higher MHz than that of the other Kernel that comes with CM6.


    --> Ne:nexusx:uS One ROOTED

    --> ...a Gingerbread ROM




    - Our handicapped puppy -

    *Follow me on Twitter



    EASY ROOT + CUSTOM KERNEL FLASHING INSTRUCTIONS ----> HERE

  9. #8
    Android Lurker Floogle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4
    Gotcha B-)

  10. #9
    Member turtle*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    35
    is there a setting that shows your running 720p on the camera app itself?

    kinda like " High , 720p (30m)" option or you just have to assume its 720p?

  11. #10
    Super Moderator AndroidIsTheTruth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanked
    10 times
    Quote Originally Posted by turtle* View Post
    is there a setting that shows your running 720p on the camera app itself?

    kinda like " High , 720p (30m)" option or you just have to assume its 720p?

    It should be preset to 720p already. Open your camera app and click the top icon if holding your phone horizontally. The menu is scrollable so you see tons of other camera options/settings.
    Androidfied.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

kernel wildmonk nexus one
,
nexus one 1190 kernel
,
wildmonk kernel nexus one
,
wildmonk kernels
,
wildmonk's kernel
,
wildmonks kernel
,

wildmonks nexus one

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum