Simple SDK setup guide

This is a discussion on Simple SDK setup guide within the Nexus One Development & Hacking forums, part of the Nexus One category; Hello, Danger-rat, well, my N1 is already unlocked and installed CM6 from recovery, is my phone rooted yet? I am still receiving the update reminder ...

Page 11 of 21 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 208

Thread: Simple SDK setup guide

  1. #101
    Junior Member AndPad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    11
    Hello, Danger-rat,
    well, my N1 is already unlocked and installed CM6 from recovery, is my phone rooted yet? I am still receiving the update reminder from Google from past 2 days, reminding me to upgrade to 2.3.3; I don't want to go back to the stock one now, I like CM.
    Is there any way to stop the noticefication forever? I don't want it come up all the time.

    by the way, do you use CM7 RC1? it's a battery drainer, still need to be debug. drained my full battery overnight in sleep mode, but I don't want to go back to CM6 now because it is better and nicer, except the battery issue, it has the Gingerbread installed.

  2. #102
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    Wassup!

    The only way I know to kill the OTA notifications is to flash the attached zip. It will install an app called FOTA-Kill...
    http://db.tt/6ZINvHe

    If you're on a custom ROM like CM6, you're definitely rooted, but the OTA may not be disabled...

    I currently have a CM7 nightly installed. Battery is crap, but I'm always near a charger, so I don't care to much...

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  3. #103
    Junior Member AndPad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    11
    wow, awesome app, just installed;

    you are so helpful!

  4. #104
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    You're welcome! xD

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  5. #105
    Member schizophrenia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    89
    a big Off Topic question but I think danger rat you can help me so here is my question.

    So i got this new microSD card and I wanna move everything from my old card (card A) to new card (card B), what should I do?

    Problem is, I had my card A partitioned and have everything installed on the card itself (using CM7 but modded with apps2ext built in). Without the card A, the phone wont function properly.

    My attempt was, to boot the phone into Ra Recovery in an attempt to partition my card B there inserted. But it turned out, without card A, I can't even get into Ra Recovery mode.

    So my question is, how do I partition and move everything from card A to card B without the help of the phone? Do I just move everything from A to B through PC and that's it? no need redo partitioning? Or are there any other way?


    I plan to keep (the way I followed other's instruction using Ra Recovery):

    swap size 256
    ext2 size 1024
    FAT32 size remainder

    then SD: ext2 to ext3


    Thanks a lot.

  6. #106
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    You should be able to boot into recovery without card A. What exactly is it doing?

    A workaround would be to install a temporary ROM, without any apps or a2ext, and use that while you're partitioning, etc?

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  7. #107
    Member schizophrenia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    89
    Quote Originally Posted by danger-rat View Post
    You should be able to boot into recovery without card A. What exactly is it doing?

    A workaround would be to install a temporary ROM, without any apps or a2ext, and use that while you're partitioning, etc?

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk
    as a matter of fact, i think, without the card it really couldn't go into the Ra Recovery, etc maybe because the recovery is in the card?

    but anyway

    ok.. did some research

    research indicates that I can actually install some software on my PC to "move" the partitioned files from the old card to new through PC. But partitioning a SD card using PC is a no no.

    so............ i think I found a way to work around all these stuff... all because I have a spare Hero.

    I immediately took out my old 2.1 Hero, rooted it using Universal Androot. Installed ROM manager and flashed Ra Recovery and partitioned the new card right away.

    Copied the ext3 stuff from my old card to my PC using that particular downloaded software. Pasted them into the ext3 of new card using PC again. At last, moved everything else from old card to new card.

    Plugged the new card in the N1. Works like a charm.

    Well, now i have a 16Gb class 6 card (SD card tester shows a class 6) in my N1 and hope it goes smoother. the old one claimed to be class 6 but SD card tester identifies it as class 2.

    glad to have a spare Android phone.

    thanks for your inspiration



  8. #108
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    Great bit of creative work! xD

    Just to elaborate on partitioning a card on the PC. Windows doesn't "do" ext partitions, so one solution is to use a Linux live CD and partition from that...

    Anyway, great resolution!

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  9. #109
    Member fahdbhatti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    65
    danger, i used the method that you wrote in the first post of this thread to root my nexus one running froyo FRG83G 2.2.2 and it was successfully rooted. After that, i reflashed the stock rom to update to gingerbread GRI40 2.3.3 after using it for a couple of days today i tried to root my phone again but i was unsuccessful, this is what i did today.

    first i flashed stock FRG33 then updated it to FRG83 then to FRG83D and then finally to FRG83G 2.2.2 and i tried to root the phone but it didn't worked this time. the problem i faced was that whenever i executed the command "adb devices" to check if the phone was connected it didn't returned any device id infact it displayed an empty list. I followed exactly what you said many time throughly checking again and again not to miss any step but still it didn't worked..

    do you have any idea why is this happening, how can i fix this isssue and root my phone again without unlocking the bootloader.

    thanks in advance

  10. #110
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    Have you enabled usb debugging?

    Also, when I've had problems getting the phone to mount, I connect with fastboot (just "fastboot devices", with the phone at the fastboot screen), then from the phone boot straight into recovery and try "adb devices"...

    Seems to help sometimes...

    If not, try rebooting your phone and/or PC...

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

Page 11 of 21 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

android sdk easy setup
,
android sdk root ghuide
,
android.net setup sdk download
,
are there any android apps that will let you join two zip files together
,
build frg83g capable phones
,
clockwork recovery v2.5.1.0
,
danger-rat sdk set up thread
,
easy sdk setup
,
nexus 7 sdk setup
,

passimg.zip (thank you danger-rat)

,
sdk for nexus
,
sdk for nexus one
,
set up sdk nexus 7
,
the nexus one sdk tools folder
,

what is quick set sdk

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum