Simple SDK setup guide

This is a discussion on Simple SDK setup guide within the Nexus One Development & Hacking forums, part of the Nexus One category; Hello, Danger-rat Thank you for your reply and Help! I don't know if you can see the image I post here but yes it's what ...

Page 9 of 21 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 208

Thread: Simple SDK setup guide

  1. #81
    Junior Member AndPad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    11

    Red face keep trying

    Hello, Danger-rat

    Thank you for your reply and Help!
    I don't know if you can see the image I post here but yes it's what I did, in fastboot mode, fastboot flash recover recover.img
    but....still not rooted
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #82
    Junior Member AndPad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    11
    https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink

    please check out this link, it's a CMD command image, after all these and more, still not rooted

  3. #83
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    Of course you're not rooted, you haven't done anything to root it yet... But we can fix that!

    First, do you have a reason for rooting? What are you trying to do? More specifically, are you trying to install a custom ROM, or do you want to stay stock (with root access)?

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  4. #84
    Junior Member AndPad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    11
    acturally I am using the newest stock build FRG83G now(my wife is using), it was wirelessly updated a week ago, but this phone responds slow so I just would like to flash everything. (probably the reason for responding slow is because of the sd card too, it's 2Gb with class 2, will get a class 6 or higher)

    I have another N1(for my own) is flashed with CyanogeMod 6( now the 7 is out) and I like it, so just thinking why not do the same for this phone. I have 2 N1 s. so that way both phone have the same look and condition.

    I followed all the instructions, didn't I flashed the recovery.img already? wasn't it the command to root???? I thought this is the prosedure before I can flash a new radio and custom rom.
    https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink

    thank you, and looking for your advice!
    <table style="width:auto;"><tr><td><a href="https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...dwebsite"><img src="https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/_K...%20command.jpg" height="99" width="144" /></a></td></tr><tr><td style="font-family:arial,sans-serif; font-size:11px; text-align:right">From <a href="https://picasaweb.google.com/1038400...dwebsite">Drop Box</a></td></tr></table>



    Quote Originally Posted by danger-rat View Post
    Of course you're not rooted, you haven't done anything to root it yet... But we can fix that!

    First, do you have a reason for rooting? What are you trying to do? More specifically, are you trying to install a custom ROM, or do you want to stay stock (with root access)?

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  5. #85
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    OK, lets see if I can clarify...

    Recovery, Bootloader, and System are different parts of the phone. When you root a phone, you basically get read and write access to the system part of the phone.

    You can get access to the system part of the phone by either modifying the existing system to allow you access, or by installing a new system that already has access enabled.

    My guide modifies the existing system to allow access (roots the phone). Since most people want a custom ROM, they can then use this system access to install a new system (custom ROM).

    I installing a ROM can be done through a custom recovery, or through fastboot. Recovery installs the entire package, whereas fastboot typically installs individual items. To use fastboot you have to unlock the bootloader. Most people prefer the recovery approach because it's easier, and also allows you to make backups of the system...

    Now this is where you fit in. Since you have already unlocked your bootloader, you can use fastboot to install a custom recovery (instead of rooting the system). The problem you face however is that you don't have root access to the system, because you still have a stock system (you haven't modified the system).

    What you can do, is install a custom recovery and use it to flash a pre-modified ROM, which already has system access enabled. You're basically skipping the "root your existing image" step...

    The stock ROM will restore the stock recovery when you reboot, so don't reboot.

    Flash recovery.
    Use the on phone menu to go to BOOTLOADER, then RECOVERY.
    Use your new recovery to make a backup, and then install a custom ROM.

    (Wipe and install gapps, as necessary).

    The custom ROM will not restore the stock recovery, so once you install it, you can reboot as much as you like...

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  6. #86
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    I'm going to sum this up better...

    Most people root so that they can install custom ROMs. To do this, there are two common approaches:

    1 - Modify (root) the existing system. Use the rooted system to install a custom recovery. Use the custom recovery to install a custom ROM.

    2 - Modify (unlock) the bootloader. Use the unlocked bootloader to install a custom recovery. Use custom recovery to install a custom ROM.

    The advantage of the first method is that you can also use the rooted system to make a backup of your data before you install the custom recovery; whereas unlocking the bootloader actually wipes all your data.

    Unlocking the bootloader has some extra advantages, but it's nice to be able to backup your data first...

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  7. #87
    Junior Member AndPad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    11

    Cyanogen Loop

    Hi, Danger rat,

    you are genius. Thank you for all your help and reply, but please stick with me untill I got installation done, I really need help!

    I followed your instruction and finally flashed everything, I think.
    1. I went in fastboot mode and flash the Recovery.img
    2. before rebooting I went to Hboot to recovery and flash the Rom(CM6 stable), Gapps then Radio; I don't know if the order matters.

    after all those the system rebooted and automatically went into something updating the radio mode, says "Formatting Cache", but it holded too long and I see the manual all pop up on top before I touched anything, so I thought it wants me to "reboot system now", which I had done.

    bad things happened, the system just in the Cyanogen start-up screen keeps looping, couldn't stop untill I pull the battery out.
    I googled for the reason, this could be a "memory is full", the system rebooted before "formatting cache" is done. so I went into Hboot recovery mode and wipe data, cache, and then flashed the Rom again, following by gapps and radio. but still......it's been 2 hours now, the screen is not changing, it says on "formatting Cache...", a white opened-box and an android is on the background.

    please see https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink
    if the link is not working, I already attached the jpg.

    please advice what I should do? I afraid to "reboot system now" and then go back the loop again.

    is my phone rooted yet after we done? it's going to be a new system but I still can't install apps that requires root?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  8. #88
    Android Lurker danger-rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    0
    OK, just to confirm that the radio installed OK first, can you check which radio you tried to flash against the radio numbers shown in the bootloader? Are they the same number?

    Also, which gapps package are you trying to install (link)?

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  9. #89
    Junior Member AndPad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    11
    1. Radio: The Radio was 4.06.00.12.7, the old one, so I download the new and common one from Nexus One: Full Update Guide - CyanogenMod Wiki , the version I just flashed is passion.5.08.00.04;
    I don't have the option to check the version now unless I reboot, but I kind of can't reboot at this moment because it will go back to the Cyanogen loop.

    2. Gapps, it's Gapp-hdpi-20101114-signed.zip for CM6; from Latest Version - CyanogenMod Wiki

    I plugged the usb cable in to prevent the battary running out. it's just stay there, no changed.

    P.S. :I thought even with the old Radio, they new CM should be flashed/installed to function, isn't it?

  10. #90
    Junior Member AndPad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    11
    okay, I just rebooted into Fastboot screen, before "formatting cache" is finished(it never going to finishe anyway), the Radio is now confirmed "5.08.00.04", it's correct.

    I just reboot the device again, MAGIC!!!!!, it seems working now, I am trying to play around and see. and I will tell you the result later.

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH.......

Page 9 of 21 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

android sdk easy setup
,
android sdk root ghuide
,
android.net setup sdk download
,
are there any android apps that will let you join two zip files together
,
build frg83g capable phones
,
clockwork recovery v2.5.1.0
,
danger-rat sdk set up thread
,
easy sdk setup
,
nexus 7 sdk setup
,

passimg.zip (thank you danger-rat)

,
sdk for nexus
,
sdk for nexus one
,
set up sdk nexus 7
,
the nexus one sdk tools folder
,

what is quick set sdk

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum