Outlandish Idea (First Post Too!)

This is a discussion on Outlandish Idea (First Post Too!) within the Nexus One Development & Hacking forums, part of the Nexus One category; Ok, I'm probably going to get flamed for this post, but so be it! I happen to be a relatively content iPhone owner on the ...

Thread: Outlandish Idea (First Post Too!)

Outlandish Idea (First Post Too!)

Ok, I'm probably going to get flamed for this post, but so be it!

I happen to be a relatively content iPhone owner on the wonderfully overpriced AT&T Wireless network. I've fallen in love with the N1 and had my heart shattered as soon as I heard it was incompatible with AT&T's 3G network. I would have dropped my iPhone faster than you can say Google!

Anyways, on to my idea!

Ok, im not computer/electrical engineer, but I am an IT Tech. With computers, drivers are an easy fix, and in the case of linux, its relatively easy to get stuff working (hardware wise) even if you dont have supported drivers.

Now, my idea is to somehow de-solder (is that even a word lol) the radio transceiver and replace it with (possibly the next model up) a new radio transceiver that supports the AT&T 3G frquencies AND the T-Mobile 3G frequencies (I believe its refered to as 'Quadband').

I say the next model up because it may have a BETTER chance of being compatible.

Now, hopefully there are people out there (with electrical knowledge) that can tell me (and possibly other geek-freaks) if this is even possible at all, and if so, what it will take.

Im sure there are rich people out there that would be willing to fork over a N1 in hopes that way succeed with our guinea pig!

So, FLAME ON!!!

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

Lofty effort... Will the current software support the chip?

Quote Originally Posted by Backnblack View Post
    Lofty effort... Will the current software support the chip?