cyanogen rom

This is a discussion on cyanogen rom within the Nexus One Development & Hacking forums, part of the Nexus One category; hi guys, im very new to all these roms and exactly understand what WIPE and FLASH means? how can i install a cyanogen rom with ...

Thread: cyanogen rom

Junior Member Brooklyn Nexus Guy's Avatar

cyanogen rom

hi guys,

im very new to all these roms and exactly understand what WIPE and FLASH means?

how can i install a cyanogen rom with the google apps?

also, i dont know how to install the TETHER application because i dont understand the instructions such WIPE and FLASH.

my phone is already rooted.

please help?

thanks

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

mah
    I have neither rooted my phone nor installed a tether app... I can only offer general help, but....

Flash: You can think of this as your phone's harddrive. Instead of a drive similar to a computers, small devices usually have something called "flash memory" which is slower and more expensive, but more reliable. Depending on how the word is used, it can either refer to this memory, or it can be the act of replacing a large block of its contents -- reprogramming it in whole, rather than writing to one file.

Wipe: this means to erase some area of your flash, the extent of which is based on the context of how it's used. You might wipe the majority of flash or you might wipe certain settings, for example.

One of the peculiarities with flash based storage is that you can easily write new data, but you can only erase in large blocks. Because of this, when you need to "flash your phone" (to replace its operating system), you first need to erase the areas of flash that will hold it, or "wipe your flash".