Why root my new N1?

This is a discussion on Why root my new N1? within the Nexus One Development & Hacking forums, part of the Nexus One category; I consider myself a geek / gadget tweaker. My 3GS iPhone is jailbroken, I build and overclock all my PCs, I'm a software engineer by ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why root my new N1?

Why root my new N1?

I consider myself a geek / gadget tweaker. My 3GS iPhone is jailbroken, I build and overclock all my PCs, I'm a software engineer by profession. That being said, I'm having trouble justifying the potential cons of a root with Cyanogenmod even though the geek in me wants to do it anyway.

Here are the potential cons that I'm aware of:

and here are the Pros:

• More responsive GUI
    • WiFi tethering
    • better battery life (confirmed?)
    • app2SD (not all that interested)
    • theming (not that interested)
      • just having the N1 is a theming dream over even the jailbroken 3GS

Right now, the phone works very well for me. It seems responsive (though maybe not as responsive as my 3GS), the battery life is not that bad and I can tether via USB.

Can someone please highlight some other additional functionality that I may not be aware of with the root?

Thanks!:D

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

I got the Cyanogen mod and noticed its running a bit faster. I havent had problem with live wall papers as I tried using them all without any crashes. More features than stock. I like it!

Faster, I actually get better data connection. Freed up memory. More features such as WiFi tethering, Torch, and trackball wake. All very great.
    Froyo 2.2 Stock
    RA-nexus-v1.7.0
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

ability of over clock and undervolt (does save battery) Carlos Graves video is prolly a big part of why i rooted and everything.

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YgvK6O1Povo]YouTube - What's On Carlos' Nexus One - Kspec (Review)[/ame]
    CyanogenMod 6.0.0