New Member needs a place to start!

This is a discussion on New Member needs a place to start! within the Nexus One Introductions forums, part of the Nexus One category; Hi dear N1 users I recently bought a nexus one for my birthday.I must say I'm pretty impressed with this phone but I have some ...

Thread: New Member needs a place to start!

New Member needs a place to start!

Hi dear N1 users

I recently bought a nexus one for my birthday.I must say I'm pretty impressed with this phone but I have some questions as I am a newbie to this.I don't know about hacking or flashing BUT I can follow instructions so I'm not that much of a noob.

1)What is this Froyo/Cyrogenmod/Flash thingies?I am a PSP user with custom firmware stuff.I believe that this FRF thing is kind of like a Firmware version?

2)What is this radio thing that people are talking about?Some custom mod?

3)My phone status:
    Android Version 2.2

Baseband Version
    32.19.00.16U_4.02.02.14

Kernel Version
    2.6.32.16-The Official

Build Number
    FRF91

What does all this stuff mean?Can I flash or downgrade or do whatever to get some good mods?

4)Do I need custom stuff to enjoy my N1?I am not a phone go guy,I like browsing on internet,use casual phone stuff and use the media thingies.

5)And finally for some reason the camcorder doesn't work on my N1.When I switch to phototaking or try to shoot a video phone freezes and reboots.This is probably the most annoying thing I encountered.And If this was ok I wouldn't mind about cracking and modding and hacking stuff

7)Btw is there any fm radio application for N1?

These are my questions please help me as I think after I get a hang of this stuff I can pass this stuff to new members.

Thanks in advance

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

Well, android version 2.2 is otherwise called froyo. Its just the name of the version. 2.1 was called eclair, and 2.3 is called gingerbread.