Phone's location is way off!

This is a discussion on Phone's location is way off! within the Nexus One Tech Issues / Bug Reports forums, part of the Nexus One category; OK so I get up this morning and check my phone. Everything is working normally. On my way to work I'm stopped at a light, ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Phone's location is way off!

  1. #1
    Senior Member bobbyphoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    159

    Phone's location is way off!

    OK so I get up this morning and check my phone. Everything is working normally. On my way to work I'm stopped at a light, so I check my phone again. I see I have some updates for some apps. I update them all, and carry on with my day. Now I'm at work, and check my phone, and my weather seems low, so I click on it to open it to full view, and wow, I'm in Beijing! Not really. I'm actually in Orlando, Florida, but my phone thinks I'm in China. I tried checking my location in maps. Same thing. China. I used both wireless networks, and GPS to see if there are any changes, but there are not. I rebooted the phone. No change. Took out the battery. No change. I even had Lookout locate me, and it found me in Beijing too! I uninstalled Google Sky Maps (it was one of the updates), but I'm still in China. Anyone know what's up?

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    jah
    jah is offline
    Senior Member jah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    201
    Mine frequently puts me in Finland, but I live in Tennessee. Has been doing it since the OTA, but I've never heard any explanation, and I've never tried too hard to find out.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Nobby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    349
    you might have a defective something, here in the UK i use google latitude in the background constantly and even with a 15% fix it is only 25-30 feet off my real location and this is in a huge concrete bunker of a building at my university. when i am out on my motorcycle and using it on the dash i can get locks that are spot on my location to the inch!

    Try using another location app from the market or contact htc and enquire about the problem.
    NEXUS ONE
    11.02.2010 - SuperBoot Rooted
    24.02.2010 - Amon Ra's Recovery
    24.02.2010 - 05.10.2010 Cyanogen Era
    06.10.2010 - 08.12.2010 - RoDrIgUeZsTyLe´s MIUIMOD Era
    04.05.2011 - CyanogenMod 7.0.3


    NOTION INK ADAM
    04.04.2011 - Rooted & CW Recovery Installed
    04.04.2011 - BEAST 2.1.3 PQi + 3g Version
    02.05.2011 - BEAST 2.2

  5. #4
    Android Addict alphawave7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    609
    Thanked
    62 times
    Perhaps a location-sensitive app is commandeering your true location? I'd delete apps until I found the culprit, then a factory refresh if that fails.

  6. #5
    Senior Member keyplyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    708
    Use only GPS (not mobile network) for location. If you currently have both, or just mobile network assigned for location, turn off mobile network location, reboot and assign GPS for location.




  7. #6
    Senior Member bobbyphoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    159
    Well I must have been in a worm hole or something. As soon as I left work, and was about half way down the road, everything went back to normal. I never noticed it before, so I don't know if it's a one time thing, but I'm gald I'm back in the USA!

  8. #7
    Android Lurker maris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bobbyphoenix View Post
    Well I must have been in a worm hole or something. As soon as I left work, and was about half way down the road, everything went back to normal. I never noticed it before, so I don't know if it's a one time thing, but I'm gald I'm back in the USA!
    Welcome home!

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Epic 4g getting LED Flash!
    By Epic Forums User in forum Samsung Epic 4G
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 03:53 PM

Search tags for this page

phone location is way off

,

phone location way off

,

phone position way off

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum