Really Crappy Signal

This is a discussion on Really Crappy Signal within the Nexus One Tech Issues / Bug Reports forums, part of the Nexus One category; I just got my Nexus One today. The signal is very crappy. I just had a Cliq XT, and it gets much better service in ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Really Crappy Signal

  1. #1
    Member The Law's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    92

    Really Crappy Signal

    I just got my Nexus One today. The signal is very crappy. I just had a Cliq XT, and it gets much better service in my house than the Nexus One. Both are T-Mobile. What gives?

    The 3G wasn't great on the Cliq XT, but it is noticeably and significantly worse on the N1.

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Super Moderator sliceburgslim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanked
    14 times
    Quote Originally Posted by The Law View Post
    I just got my Nexus One today. The signal is very crappy. I just had a Cliq XT, and it gets much better service in my house than the Nexus One. Both are T-Mobile. What gives?

    The 3G wasn't great on the Cliq XT, but it is noticeably and significantly worse on the N1.
    No problems here...if you are on the outskirts of your 3g coverage area you might experience bad reception. Try keeping your hand away from the bottom of the phone for better reception
    [PHONE] Nexus 4

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    [TABLET] Nexus 7

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

  4. #3
    Member The Law's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    92
    Try keeping your hand away from the bottom of the phone for better reception
    Yea, I noticed that. I know the antenna is in the bottom of the phone, but it's unbelievably sensitive and erratic. As soon as I pick it up it drops from 3G to Edge. I was watching the dB meter in the settings. Literally, the second I put my hand there the signal just drops and drops. It's pretty awful. Not sure I can keep this phone.

  5. #4
    Junior Member onexus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    8
    So when it goes from 3g to edge, what does that actually mean? Is edge a less speedy connection?
    I am about to get this phone and I live in an area with very patchy reception anyway. My Nokia N97 mini is not useable in my house, and is patchy at best outside. I accept that this is the case, but I read somewhere else that if the 3g connection is not good, not to get this phone as lots of stuff wont work without 3g!

    Is that true? Maybe I should reconsider my choice of phone!

    Thanks for your opinions.

  6. #5
    Junior Member onexus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by SliceBurgSlim View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by The Law View Post
    I just got my Nexus One today. The signal is very crappy. I just had a Cliq XT, and it gets much better service in my house than the Nexus One. Both are T-Mobile. What gives?

    The 3G wasn't great on the Cliq XT, but it is noticeably and significantly worse on the N1.
    No problems here...if you are on the outskirts of your 3g coverage area you might experience bad reception. Try keeping your hand away from the bottom of the phone for better reception
    Ok, so you can see me (or at least you can get my info to come up in your cute liddle banner) but how?????

    I'm impressed! (Dont get too excited, I'm easy to impress:rofl3

  7. #6
    Junior Member miss.eko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3

    new sim

    there are two different types on sim cards out.. for tmobile at least. there are some that end in a 20 and the new ones that end in a 30..

    i got mine replaced with a new sim and i have better signal and dont loose 3G in places where i used to. good luck!

  8. #7
    Senior Member keyplyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    708
    @ The Law

    To manually set 3g:

    Go to phone > dial *#*#4636#*#* then go to Phone Info and choose WCMA Only.

    This will keep you on 3G and force a better speed. If by chance you roam out of 3G coverage & find you need EDGE, you can easily switch back to WCMA Preferred.



  9. #8
    Super Moderator sliceburgslim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    66
    Thanked
    14 times
    Quote Originally Posted by onexus View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by SliceBurgSlim View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by The Law View Post
    I just got my Nexus One today. The signal is very crappy. I just had a Cliq XT, and it gets much better service in my house than the Nexus One. Both are T-Mobile. What gives?

    The 3G wasn't great on the Cliq XT, but it is noticeably and significantly worse on the N1.
    No problems here...if you are on the outskirts of your 3g coverage area you might experience bad reception. Try keeping your hand away from the bottom of the phone for better reception
    Ok, so you can see me (or at least you can get my info to come up in your cute liddle banner) but how?????

    I'm impressed! (Dont get too excited, I'm easy to impress:rofl3

    Haha! Check out the link in the banner
    [PHONE] Nexus 4

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    [TABLET] Nexus 7

    [ROM] CM11 Nightlies

  10. #9
    Senior Member keyplyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    708
    Quote Originally Posted by onexus View Post
    Ok, so you can see me (or at least you can get my info to come up in your cute liddle banner) but how?????

    I'm impressed! (Dont get too excited, I'm easy to impress:rofl3
    Put this in your sig:

    <img src="http://www.danasoft.com/sig/73421.jpg" border="0" alt="" class="tcattdimgresizersigs" onload="NcodeImageResizer.createOnSigs(this);" />

    (Changing the carrots for brackets)



  11. #10
    Senior Member cbroberts2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    251

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by keyplyr View Post
    @ The Law

    To manually set 3g:

    Go to phone > dial *#*#4636#*#* then go to Phone Info and choose WCMA Only.

    This will keep you on 3G and force a better speed. If by chance you roam out of 3G coverage & find you need EDGE, you can easily switch back to WCMA Preferred.

    Ok I have tried this several times and it immediately, automatically changes back to WCMA Preferred...just letting folks know that may have tried this and it hasnt worked for them...but I may just have to look into changing SIM cards..because my spouse's Motorola Cliq runs rings around my rooted N1(EDGE) as far as signal strength and that is just plain wrong...LOLOLOL
    CM7.0.3
    Overclocked 1113

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

poor signal problems with nexus one

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum