News and weather app cant detect my location after froyo update

This is a discussion on News and weather app cant detect my location after froyo update within the Nexus One Tech Issues / Bug Reports forums, part of the Nexus One category; Originally Posted by Beer Goggles Originally Posted by alphawave7 App-dependent, that is the main way Nexus determines your location, preferred over battery-consuming GPS. Fewer apps ...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: News and weather app cant detect my location after froyo update

  1. #11
    Android Addict alphawave7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    609
    Thanked
    62 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Beer Goggles View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by alphawave7 View Post
    App-dependent, that is the main way Nexus determines your location, preferred over battery-consuming GPS. Fewer apps rely on the old TowerID/triangulation method, far less accurate to wireless networking.
    See... there's a thing called abstraction... an application shouldn't care how it gets the location. That's up to the user to define. An app should ask the location service in the OS "Where am I"? and the OS should say "You're here" or "I don't know where I am". It's just that simple. If not, someone screwed up the design.
    What is your aversion to wireless networking location services? IIRC, Google is 'seriously' into using this method for mobile location-based data. If you have it, and GPS disabled, you can't reasonably expect to get location-specific information, such as 'local' news and weather, using 'my location' services..it could only rely on ZIP code manual entry, or the old tower method.

  2. #12
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by alphawave7 View Post
    What is your aversion to wireless networking location services? IIRC, Google is 'seriously' into using this method for mobile location-based data. If you have it, and GPS disabled, you can't reasonably expect to get location-specific information, such as 'local' news and weather, using 'my location' services..it could only rely on ZIP code manual entry, or the old tower method.
    I wouldn't expect to get any location info if both possible methods are disabled. But it should certainly be able to obtain it via GPS, since I have GPS enabled.

    The update interval for news and weather is user defined, so it shouldn't have to burn GPS battery continuously.

  3. #13
    Android Addict alphawave7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    609
    Thanked
    62 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Beer Goggles View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by alphawave7 View Post
    What is your aversion to wireless networking location services? IIRC, Google is 'seriously' into using this method for mobile location-based data. If you have it, and GPS disabled, you can't reasonably expect to get location-specific information, such as 'local' news and weather, using 'my location' services..it could only rely on ZIP code manual entry, or the old tower method.
    I wouldn't expect to get any location info if both possible methods are disabled. But it should certainly be able to obtain it via GPS, since I have GPS enabled.

    The update interval for news and weather is user defined, so it shouldn't have to burn GPS battery continuously.
    Perhaps add this bug/question to the Google fora...'News and Weather reliance on wireless location services', and see what they might have to say?

  4. #14
    Senior Member rioja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    741
    Google probably went this route because it's the most reliable method available of getting your location.

    Maybe they could have defaulted to GPS and when that fails (which it often would), they could fall back to wireless. For most users, I don't think they would choose GPS over wireless... at least not after finding out how difficult it is to keep it connected.

  5. #15
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by rioja View Post
    Google probably went this route because it's the most reliable method available of getting your location.

    Maybe they could have defaulted to GPS and when that fails (which it often would), they could fall back to wireless. For most users, I don't think they would choose GPS over wireless... at least not after finding out how difficult it is to keep it connected.
    When it can't get your current location using GPS only, it should just use the "last known location". It's just that simple.

  6. #16
    Senior Member rioja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    741
    Quote Originally Posted by Beer Goggles View Post
    When it can't get your current location using GPS only, it should just use the "last known location". It's just that simple.
    Even when you're not in the location it's displaying?

  7. #17
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by rioja View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Beer Goggles View Post
    When it can't get your current location using GPS only, it should just use the "last known location". It's just that simple.
    Even when you're not in the location it's displaying?
    Because, unless you've developed some advanced teleportation system, it's pretty close to the same place. In other words, it's close enough.

  8. #18
    Junior Member mrkstpnk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks alphawave7.......... longer battery life too! Nice.. sorry beergoggles that sucks you won't use wireless networks...... goodluck with that..

  9. #19
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by mrkstpnk View Post
    Thanks alphawave7.......... longer battery life too! Nice.. sorry beergoggles that sucks you won't use wireless networks...... goodluck with that..
    Critics everywhere.

  10. #20
    Android Lurker Birdeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    0
    same issue for me. I got yhe Froyo OTA this morning and since then my nexus cant find my location in the news weather app as well as google map, even when gps is on.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

android news and wheather app set location

,

android news weather doesn't detect location

,

froyo weather can't find location

,

google news and weather no longer working with set location

,

how to set location nexus 7 weather bug app

,

news and weather cant find location

,

nexus weather bug issues

,

weather app cant detect location

,

yahoo news cant detect location

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum