News and weather app cant detect my location after froyo update

This is a discussion on News and weather app cant detect my location after froyo update within the Nexus One Tech Issues / Bug Reports forums, part of the Nexus One category; News and Weather app works fine except the weather part if i set location as "use my location." It works flawlessly if I set specific ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: News and weather app cant detect my location after froyo update

  1. #1
    Senior Member hawon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    170

    News and weather app cant detect my location after froyo update

    News and Weather app works fine except the weather part if i set location as "use my location." It works flawlessly if I set specific location.

    Is it the server problem? Is anyone experiencing same symptom?

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Junior Member DrQuantum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1
    yes i have the exact same issue!

  4. #3
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by hawon View Post
    News and Weather app works fine except the weather part if i set location as "use my location." It works flawlessly if I set specific location.

    Is it the server problem? Is anyone experiencing same symptom?
    I have the same problem with 2.1, so I don't think that it's new.

  5. #4
    Senior Member hawon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    170
    Quote Originally Posted by Beer Goggles View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by hawon View Post
    News and Weather app works fine except the weather part if i set location as "use my location." It works flawlessly if I set specific location.

    Is it the server problem? Is anyone experiencing same symptom?
    I have the same problem with 2.1, so I don't think that it's new.
    Hmm. I had this problem time to time but not this long with 2.1 =\

  6. #5
    Senior Member rioja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    741
    Settings > Location & security. Do you have both "Use wireless networks" and "Use GPS satellites" turned on?

  7. #6
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by rioja View Post
    Settings > Location & security. Do you have both "Use wireless networks" and "Use GPS satellites" turned on?
    Just GPS for me...

  8. #7
    Senior Member rioja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    741
    Quote Originally Posted by Beer Goggles View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by rioja View Post
    Settings > Location & security. Do you have both "Use wireless networks" and "Use GPS satellites" turned on?
    Just GPS for me...

    Can you try Use wireless networks too and let us know the result. I think that may fix it.

  9. #8
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by rioja View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Beer Goggles View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by rioja View Post
    Settings > Location & security. Do you have both "Use wireless networks" and "Use GPS satellites" turned on?
    Just GPS for me...

    Can you try Use wireless networks too and let us know the result. I think that may fix it.
    I don't want to use wireless networks for location. But thanks anyway.

  10. #9
    Android Addict alphawave7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    609
    Thanked
    62 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Beer Goggles View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by rioja View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Beer Goggles View Post

    Just GPS for me...

    Can you try Use wireless networks too and let us know the result. I think that may fix it.
    I don't want to use wireless networks for location. But thanks anyway.
    App-dependent, that is the main way Nexus determines your location, preferred over battery-consuming GPS. Fewer apps rely on the old TowerID/triangulation method, far less accurate to wireless networking.

  11. #10
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by alphawave7 View Post
    App-dependent, that is the main way Nexus determines your location, preferred over battery-consuming GPS. Fewer apps rely on the old TowerID/triangulation method, far less accurate to wireless networking.
    See... there's a thing called abstraction... an application shouldn't care how it gets the location. That's up to the user to define. An app should ask the location service in the OS "Where am I"? and the OS should say "You're here" or "I don't know where I am". It's just that simple. If not, someone screwed up the design.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

android news and wheather app set location

,

android news weather doesn't detect location

,

froyo weather can't find location

,

google news and weather no longer working with set location

,

how to set location nexus 7 weather bug app

,

news and weather cant find location

,

nexus weather bug issues

,

weather app cant detect location

,

yahoo news cant detect location

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum