Using Nexus one as a modem

This is a discussion on Using Nexus one as a modem within the Nexus One Tech Issues / Bug Reports forums, part of the Nexus One category; Hi, Can anyone advise if i am able to use my Nexus one as a Modem so i can access the internet on my Laptop ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Using Nexus one as a modem

  1. #1
    Junior Member Simon Brooks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    15

    Using Nexus one as a modem

    Hi,

    Can anyone advise if i am able to use my Nexus one as a Modem so i can access the internet on my Laptop if i am not able to connect to a LAN or wireless network?

    Thanks

    Simon

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Administrator WERA689's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Metro Atlanta
    Posts
    2,418
    Thanked
    55 times
    If you have FroYo, go to Settings>Wireless&Networks>Tethering & portable hotspot. From there, you can either activate USB tethering, or wireless hotspot access.

    If you're not on FroYo yet, look for PDANet in the market and install it, as well as on your laptop. It will give you the same options.

  4. #3
    Junior Member Simon Brooks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    15
    Hey,

    Thanks for that, i have just downloaded and installed the software both on phone and laptop and it is all working,

    Thanks

    Simon

  5. #4
    Junior Member Simon Brooks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    15
    I know its a complete change of subjecy but an you advise when version 2.2 of android is going to be released on the Nexus one please.

    Simon

  6. #5
    Junior Member Simon Brooks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    15
    How do i check if i have Froyo enabled on my nexus one? i thought that came qith version 2.1

  7. #6
    Administrator WERA689's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Metro Atlanta
    Posts
    2,418
    Thanked
    55 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Simon Brooks View Post
    How do i check if i have Froyo enabled on my nexus one? i thought that came qith version 2.1

    It did. Go to Settings>About Phone, and scroll to the bottom of the screen. You'll see Android version and Build Number. If you're on Froyo, you'll see version 2.2, and build number FRF91.

    BTW, there is a delay in Vodafone releasing 2.2. There are threads here that can instruct you on how to download and install Froyo, regardless of the Voda delay.

  8. #7
    Junior Member bigdaddybatonrouge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    I just wanted to comment, "You Administrators ROCK"!!!!
    Thanks so much for taking the time to answer questions and address problems we "newbies" encounter... By reading yall's/your comments, I am getting the most out of my nexus one and RUNNING CIRCLES around all these damn iPhones my friends have...
    Thanks Again!!!

    Jacques'

  9. #8
    Android Addict alphawave7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    609
    Thanked
    62 times
    Hey Simon! Search for a thread by Sir 'Floogle' about upgrading your phone manually to FroYo...it's really not hard..just be patient and thorough.

    Here:
    http://www.nexusoneforum.net/forum/n...lds-frf91.html

  10. #9
    Android Lurker pewtavert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staten Island, NY
    Posts
    1
    What does froyo do? Is it just the latest software update?

  11. #10
    Administrator WERA689's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Metro Atlanta
    Posts
    2,418
    Thanked
    55 times
    Yes, FroYo is the latest software, also known as Android 2.2. What it adds to this question (among many other things) is the ability to use the phone as either a wifi hotspot or tethered (by USB) modem.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

config nexus modem?

,
google nexus as modem
,
how to use my nexus one as amodem
,
how to use nexus as a modem
,
how to use nexus s as modem
,
htc nexus one modem
,
laptop modem using a nexus 4
,
nexus one modem
,
nexus one usb modem
,
use nexus as a modem
,
use nexus s as modem
,
using google samsung nexus as modem
,
using nexus 4 as modem
,
using nexus s as modem
,
modem nexus
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum