Obtaining IP adress problem

This is a discussion on Obtaining IP adress problem within the Nexus One Tech Issues / Bug Reports forums, part of the Nexus One category; Hi, I just got my Nexus one today and i'm really happy with it. The only problem I have right now is connecting to our ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Obtaining IP adress problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member BergGeit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation Obtaining IP adress problem

    Hi,

    I just got my Nexus one today and i'm really happy with it. The only problem I have right now is connecting to our home wifi, which is completly clear of any security. When I go to the WIFI menu, it keeps saying; "obtaining IP adress". Then it connects for a short moment and goes back to the "obtaining IP adress" thing..

    I've read some possible solutions, but i'm not really familiar with routers and stuff.. So, is there anyone who can help me with some "easy" talk?

    By the way; I'm from The Netherlands, maybe that's usefull?


    Thanks!
    BergGeit

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    I was having a problem connecting to my home Wifi the other day (one which I'd already connected to many, many times). I rebooted the router and the problem went away.

  4. #3
    Junior Member BergGeit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    Nope, not working over here.. I think it did work on 2.1, but it asked for a 2.2 upload quickly, so i just did it..

    Is there maybe a way to go back to 2.1 or whatever?

  5. #4
    Junior Member elkyur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    15
    Had same issue, before i factory reseted my wireless access point

  6. #5
    Junior Member BergGeit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    So it would be a router problem?! Resetting router, changing to mac adress security or all other changes didnt work out..

  7. #6
    Android Lurker maris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    0
    What type of router do you have? I remember reading discussions where certain types of routers were not all that compatible.


    OK ... found some comments made by Alphawave7 I'll quote here. Hopefully it will give you some insight for your problem:

    I'm using a Buffalo WRT54G router (with the Broadcom chipset-same as N1) and DD-WRT opensource firmware, static IP's thoughout, and never have a drop/sleep problem. N1 automagically goes to 3G when I'm leaving home.
    And another Alphawave7 quote here:

    Some of these issues can be traced to firmware incompatibilities (Broadcom vs. Marvell vs. Atheros vs. etc.), encryption (WPA vs. WPA2) or simple excessive collisions (change tranceiver channels).

  8. #7
    Junior Member BergGeit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    I've got a pretty old one, it's called; TRUST 108Mbps Router & Wireless Access Point SpeedShare Turbo Pro (what a name..) . Already looked for firmware, but doesn't have firmware for Vista or higher.

  9. #8
    Android Addict alphawave7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    609
    Thanked
    62 times
    If it momentarily connects, searches for IP and fails, the dhcp server isn't comm'ing with your device for some reason. It could be an SSID issue (is it set to broadcast?), or a firewall/WEP/WPA/Security key issue (I know you said it's clean of security, but I'd suggest you go ahead and enable at least WEP 64 bit for testing (only a 10-digit number to enter). Failing that, we can try a static IP if your model allows the setting. It would also help to know about your current network config. data...what IP and subnet range is the router currently using?

  10. #9
    Junior Member BergGeit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    We do have it WPA-PSK secured now, but didn't change anything.

    For connection type it says; DHCP Client or Fixed IP, and it will obtain IP automaticly.

    Security can only be; Open System, Shared Key, WPA, WPA-PSK, 802.1x.

    IP Address 192.168.1.1
    Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

    Hope this is enough info?

  11. #10
    Junior Member BergGeit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    Got it fixxed with the Static IP thing.. This will work for me temporarily, will look for an new router these days! Any suggestions?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

android unavailable ip address
,

ip address is unavailable nexus 7 tablet

,
ip address unavailable for droid razr 4
,

ip address unavailable nexus 7

,

ip address unavailable on galaxy tab

,
ip address unavailable on google nexus
,
keeps saying obtaing ip address
,

nexus 4 obtaining ip adress problem

,

nexus 7 ip address unavailable

,

nexus 7 keeps saying obtaining ip address

,
nexus 7 says obtaining ip address
,
nexus tablet not connecting keeps saying obtaing ip
,

on galaxy tablet keeps saying obtaining ip address but not connecting

,

phone keeps obtaining ip address

,

why is nexus 7 tablet wifi has unavilable ip address

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum