Voice dialing on Nexus One

This is a discussion on Voice dialing on Nexus One within the Nexus One Tech Issues / Bug Reports forums, part of the Nexus One category; Hi there, When pressing on the Search button of my nexus one, a window pops up saying " Talk now - Google search ". If ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Voice dialing on Nexus One

  1. #1
    Junior Member fanjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5

    Voice dialing on Nexus One

    Hi there,

    When pressing on the Search button of my nexus one, a window pops up saying " Talk now - Google search ".

    If I say " call Bob ", it opens the browser and search for " call Bob". How to set it up so the phone actually calls my contact Bob when I say "call Bob" ?

    Thanks !!

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Member Abrupt Demise's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    72
    Try specifying the number to call him at (even if it's the only number listed)

    I.E. "Call Bob on mobile"
    ATT N1 Arrived - 5-18-2010
    Rooted - 7/4/2010

    Running:
    Froyo FRF91 w/ root

  4. #3
    Senior Member N1David's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    866
    I was under the impression that voice dialing only worked with the bluetooth. Maybe the latest google search update changed that??

  5. #4
    Junior Member Hal_nexusone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    21

  6. #5
    Junior Member bagit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2

    Call contacts

    Call contacts
    Say "call [contact name] [phone type]*"
    e.g. "call Allison Miller home"

    Quote Originally Posted by fanjo View Post
    Hi there,

    When pressing on the Search button of my nexus one, a window pops up saying " Talk now - Google search ".

    If I say " call Bob ", it opens the browser and search for " call Bob". How to set it up so the phone actually calls my contact Bob when I say "call Bob" ?

    Thanks !!

  7. #6
    Junior Member fanjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5
    Hello all and thank you very much for your replies.

    Allright so 1st I updated the Voice search from Market. Now the pop up is a little bit different when pressing on the search button : "Speak Now" with a red square.

    So now " call Bob home " gives me a list of "what did you want to say".. if I clic on "call Bob home" which is recognized, it still opens the browser and search for "call bob home"....

    What did I do wrong ?

  8. #7
    Senior Member nickshertzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    350
    This can be confusing because there are multiple apps for doing this. The default app is called Voice Dialer and should be in your app drawer. This is the app that launches by default when making one touch voice commands from your bluetooth headset.

    The press and hold search button usually launches Voice Search. Make sure you have the updated Voice Search installed from the market. Version 2.0.1 is the latest. That app has lots and lots of commands including sending txt, email, tweets via voice.

    Voice Actions for Android

    That all said, the quality of the voice recognition software varies GREATLY depending on what ROM and kernel you are running.

    -edit-
    OK... so Call Bob Home does the same thing to me... sends me to a google search results page! WTF?!

  9. #8
    Android Lurker maris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fanjo View Post
    Hello all and thank you very much for your replies.

    Allright so 1st I updated the Voice search from Market. Now the pop up is a little bit different when pressing on the search button : "Speak Now" with a red square.

    So now " call Bob home " gives me a list of "what did you want to say".. if I clic on "call Bob home" which is recognized, it still opens the browser and search for "call bob home"....

    What did I do wrong ?
    As in the example, try using the full contact name, not just "Bob."

  10. #9
    Senior Member N1David's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    866
    I just tried the voice search saying "Dial five six............" and it opened another box asking me to confirm dialing and it worked. Even on bluetooth, I have better luck asking it to "dial" instead of "call" and I say the number as saying the person's name has never worked for me.

  11. #10
    Junior Member Beer Goggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Try saying "Call Google Support Line" :rofl3:

    or maybe "Call Beer Goggles Paid Support Line"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

setup voice dial for nexus

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum