Can not flash recovery! Have I lost ROOT?

This is a discussion on Can not flash recovery! Have I lost ROOT? within the Nexus One Tech Issues / Bug Reports forums, part of the Nexus One category; I am new at the ROOTED phone but learning every day. My N1 was rooted with CM7 nightly. All good. To provide more memory I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can not flash recovery! Have I lost ROOT?

Can not flash recovery! Have I lost ROOT?

I am new at the ROOTED phone but learning every day.

My N1 was rooted with CM7 nightly. All good.

To provide more memory I partitioned SD with Ext3 and utilized Link2SD and S2E.

While doing my setup refining (!?) some how I lost most of my Apps, can not download any apps form my Google Play account and am unable to get to recovery using POWER BUTTON / TRACKBALL > BOOTLOADER > RECOVERY to flash new ROM, GAPPS, etc.

Now I am thinking that I have lost root.

Any ideas what I can do to ascertain what is wrong and correct?

Thanks

David

2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

pull battery and reinsert
    while phone off hold down only pwr and trackball till it boots into fastboot--three androids at bottom
    click on bootloader then vol- to recovery and click
    if you can't get to recovery you need to re-install recovery
    hope you have backups of phone and sdcard--maybe reformat/partition sdcard also
    you may have to fastboot recovery thru sdk/command window--if you don't have that, good time to read up and install and learn adb/fastboot--much easier to get out of trouble imo
    i also prefer amon_ra 2.2.1 recovery--rock solid
    Phones Owned: Nokia 6200; Nokia 6126 2ea; BB 8700g; BB 8900; MyTouch 4G; Nexus One: HTC One S; Carrier-TMobile

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

San Francisco Giants

I appreciate the reply.

When I click on recovery it goes to 4 color X and unlocked picture then sits there. OK, so I believe I need to install new recovery.