Cannot connect to N1 for wifi tethering

This is a discussion on Cannot connect to N1 for wifi tethering within the Nexus One forums, part of the Google Phones category; I installed this app from google (v 1.9) not to long ago, and decided to give it a shot tonight. install went fine, and runs ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Cannot connect to N1 for wifi tethering

  1. #1
    Member itzjere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    74

    Cannot connect to N1 for wifi tethering

    I installed this app from google (v 1.9) not to long ago, and decided to give it a shot tonight. install went fine, and runs normal on my phone. I used my laptop and searched for my SSID.. found it but it's not able to connect (time out).

    Has anyone else experienced this issue and knows of a fix? I don't mind using the USB tethering, but wifi is convenient when I don't have my cable with me.

    Running Cyanogen 5.0.5.3 and Windows 7.

    Thanks.

  2. Android.net is the premier Android Forum. Registered users do not see these ads. .

  3. #2
    Junior Member StringFellowHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Definitly an issue.

    Also other way around. I use Iphone MyWi great
    to theter to my laptop. When I scan with
    wifi scanner from the Nexus, the hot spot is detected but
    when clicking connect, nothing !!!




    Quote Originally Posted by itzjere View Post
    I installed this app from google (v 1.9) not to long ago, and decided to give it a shot tonight. install went fine, and runs normal on my phone. I used my laptop and searched for my SSID.. found it but it's not able to connect (time out).

    Has anyone else experienced this issue and knows of a fix? I don't mind using the USB tethering, but wifi is convenient when I don't have my cable with me.

    Running Cyanogen 5.0.5.3 and Windows 7.

    Thanks.

  4. #3
    Member itzjere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    74
    I haven't done too much research yet, but it appears to be a Windows 7 + wifi drivers issue?

  5. #4
    Junior Member Harry454's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    24
    Works fine connecting to my mac.

  6. #5
    Senior Member NeonMonster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    713
    This is not true. I have been using Wifi-tether on my Nexus to my Windows7 64bit for quite a while successfully.

    I noticed HOWEVER that if you password WEP encrypt your wifi hotspot on your Nexus, that windows7 usually will see the wifi hotspot but for some reason will NOT give you the ability to type a password. My Win7 would see the hotspot as a unsecured hotspot, and would try to connect but since it was password protected, it wouldn't successfully connect.

    Only way i could get around it, is by keeping the wifi tether UNSECURED. Which means others can sign on it. But you can easily see who is connected to the wifi, and kick any piggybackers off.
    @NEONmonstar
    Rooted NexusOne
    Cyanogen CM6 RC1 FROYO
    RA-nexus-v1.7.1-Cyan
    Galaxy S PRO Theme
    Desire Camera


  7. #6
    Member itzjere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    74
    Quote Originally Posted by NeonMonster View Post
    This is not true. I have been using Wifi-tether on my Nexus to my Windows7 64bit for quite a while successfully.

    I noticed HOWEVER that if you password WEP encrypt your wifi hotspot on your Nexus, that windows7 usually will see the wifi hotspot but for some reason will NOT give you the ability to type a password. My Win7 would see the hotspot as a unsecured hotspot, and would try to connect but since it was password protected, it wouldn't successfully connect.

    Only way i could get around it, is by keeping the wifi tether UNSECURED. Which means others can sign on it. But you can easily see who is connected to the wifi, and kick any piggybackers off.
    From what I understand, it's not because of Windows 7 itself, but wifi drivers are not updated yet and do not recognize the N1? Something about releasing some flags in the reghack. I will try this on another machine first to try to isolate the issue.

  8. #7
    Senior Member NeonMonster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    713
    Quote Originally Posted by itzjere View Post

    From what I understand, it's not because of Windows 7 itself, but wifi drivers are not updated yet and do not recognize the N1? Something about releasing some flags in the reghack. I will try this on another machine first to try to isolate the issue.
    I don't think this is the case, but i could be wrong.

    My Win7 laptop was able to 'see' the wifi hotspot as soon as it was turned on, and this was the day after I purchased the laptop without installing any extra software.

    The wifi-tether just makes a general networking wifi connection point. I don't think any extra drivers would be necessary for your computer to see the hotspot unless its missing drivers.

    Definitely try to make a hotspot and connect with a different computer or device and make sure that your tether itself is working. Also, look at the MB/s UP AND DOWN on the Nexus itself to see if any data is going in or out.
    @NEONmonstar
    Rooted NexusOne
    Cyanogen CM6 RC1 FROYO
    RA-nexus-v1.7.1-Cyan
    Galaxy S PRO Theme
    Desire Camera


  9. #8
    Member itzjere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    74
    Quote Originally Posted by NeonMonster View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by itzjere View Post

    From what I understand, it's not because of Windows 7 itself, but wifi drivers are not updated yet and do not recognize the N1? Something about releasing some flags in the reghack. I will try this on another machine first to try to isolate the issue.
    I don't think this is the case, but i could be wrong.

    My Win7 laptop was able to 'see' the wifi hotspot as soon as it was turned on, and this was the day after I purchased the laptop without installing any extra software.

    The wifi-tether just makes a general networking wifi connection point. I don't think any extra drivers would be necessary for your computer to see the hotspot unless its missing drivers.

    Definitely try to make a hotspot and connect with a different computer or device and make sure that your tether itself is working. Also, look at the MB/s UP AND DOWN on the Nexus itself to see if any data is going in or out.
    My laptop is able to see the hotspot.. just not able to connect to it for some reason.. I don't see any up/down changes either.. Let me go try this on another computer first.. maybe my laptop is just weird.

  10. #9
    Member itzjere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    74
    Just tried it on a Mac here at work, and wifi tethering works as it should. So it's either something with my Win7, or my laptop.. although my laptop has never given me any wifi related errors in the past..

  11. #10
    Senior Member NeonMonster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    713
    Okay. I have just tested Wifitether and my Win7.

    Wifi-Encryption is turned OFF.

    If you have Enabled Access-Control, you have to hit menu, go into Access Control and CHECK OFF YOUR COMPUTER for the Nexus to allow data to go through. My Win7 easily connected to the wifi hotspot, but wasn't able to load any webpages until I checked off my computer in Access Control.

    The only other thing I could think you did wrong was if you downloaded the wrong Wifi-Tether, but if a Mac is able to connect I don't think its the Nexus or app.
    @NEONmonstar
    Rooted NexusOne
    Cyanogen CM6 RC1 FROYO
    RA-nexus-v1.7.1-Cyan
    Galaxy S PRO Theme
    Desire Camera


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

http://www.scramblerducati.org/

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

cannot connect teathering
,

tethering cannot connect

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.
Android Forum